Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post information / pictures of your gear here!
kb4aaa
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:30 pm

Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by kb4aaa »

After trying to get Zerotier to work on Pi-star image. I finally figured out what was blocking the pi-star web server. Now repeater operators or users can access your pi-star dashboard from any computer or device just like it was on your network at home.

quick and dirty instructions
setup a free account at Zerotier
SSH into your pi-star

(make system Read Write)
rpi-rw

(add zerotier port to pistar firewall)
sudo nano /root/ipv4.fw

# This line adds outgoing access to UDP/9993
iptables -A OUTPUT -p udp --dport 9993 -j ACCEPT # Zerotier outbound udp port

(to exit and save)
ctrl+x y enter

(restart pi-star firewall)
sudo pistar-firewall

(install zerotier)
curl -s https://install.zerotier.com/ | sudo bash

(install zerotier on startup)
sudo systemctl enable zerotier-one

(check status, should return 200 info [ID] [version] ONLINE)
sudo zerotier-cli status

(Join zerotier with your [network ID] listed in network on your account)
sudo zerotier-cli join [Network ID]

(refresh your network page on zerotier and check the enable access on your new connection you just setup)
(install zeroteir client on your pc,mac,linux,or smartphone)
(now you should be able access your pistar dashboard or SSH with the ip listed in your zeroteir network)

(make system Read Only)
rpi-ro


you now can SSH or access Pistar dashboard anywhere in the world without worrying about the ip address changing or forwarding ports from firewalls.
User avatar
N9OIG
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:28 pm
Location: SE Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by N9OIG »

I only glanced over it but, $29 a month?
Kevin
N9OIG
kb4aaa
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by kb4aaa »

its free for upto 100 devices. I have been using the service for about a year.Right now on my "ham network" I have an aprs igate, 2 echolink servers,3 pi-star hotspots, two tone detect server and Dstar repeater. All at different locations using internet from dsl,cable, public wifi, 4g lte. I can access any of them from home, work, laptop on the go, phone, even on my android car radio they are all connected together on a 192.168.194.xxx encrypted private network. I have some devices that are 3 Nat layers deep behind the internet connection on with no port forwarding or configuring. Think of it being like a dstar reflector for your network only you have control who and what devices can use it.
User avatar
N9OIG
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:28 pm
Location: SE Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by N9OIG »

Well I tried it. It works we will see if it uses a bunch of extra data. I took a bit to figure it out.
Kevin
N9OIG
wx9kvh
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by wx9kvh »

I too can confirm that this is working, and quite well. Configuration is a little quirky, but once you figure it out, it works really well!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kb4aaa
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by kb4aaa »

Just tested instructions in first post also still works in Beta 4.0 RC2
K5OZ
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:50 pm
Location: Slidell, LA

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by K5OZ »

Do I have to open port 9993 on my router also?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
User avatar
N9OIG
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:28 pm
Location: SE Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by N9OIG »

No ports will need to be opened that's the point of a VPN.

N9OIG
Kevin
Kevin
N9OIG
K5OZ
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:50 pm
Location: Slidell, LA

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by K5OZ »

Thanks Kevin


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Ultimate remote dashboard access

Post by MW0MWZ »

K5OZ wrote: Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:54 pm Do I have to open port 9993 on my router also?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Only if you block all outbound ports by default, this is an outbound request.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
Post Reply