Jumbo Hot Spot defaults to TG 91

If you just want to say hello, start here!
G4CFB

Jumbo Hot Spot defaults to TG 91

Post by G4CFB »

I am new to PMR I have a Jumbo Hotspot which is constantly connected to TG91 I am unable to use any other channel whilst tg 91 is active. What am I doing wrong??
W1KMC

Re: Jumbo Hot Spot defaults to TG 91

Post by W1KMC »

Best posted in the DMR specific board but:

Short answer is nothing - you are doing nothing wrong. Pi-Star hotspots have a "feature" called pseudo-static where it remembers the last talkgroup you transmitted on, so if you had a power outage or sim,ply turn you hotspots off when not in use, the PiStar would remember where you left off next time you turn it on again.

IF when you can, sent a Group call to 4000 and your dashboard should show TG 9 shortly after (if you radio has a digital monitor mode turn it on and you will hear a woman say "Not Linked" then choose another talkgroup you like and activate that one (and hopefully have a QSO there.

If you are on Brandmeister, check brandmeister.network (hopefully you have a login there (if not register with your call sign) ).

Once you log in and on the left is hotspots, this shows all hotspots with your DMRID (you know when setting up hotspots it asks for your DMRID, and in DMR Configuration you can add the last 2 digits if you have more than one, even if you only have one, set the last 2 digits to 01, this way you get in that habit for later). check under the DMRID you are using to see if TG91 was set as a Static talkgroup and is now 'always on' - if so remove from static list.