change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

All things relating to the Nextion Screen(s)
User avatar
W1FJM
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 10:46 pm

change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by W1FJM » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:52 pm

How can I change the temp display to show Fahrenheit instead of Celsius?
Fran
W1FJM

K4SID
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:50 am

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by K4SID » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:42 pm

Hello
If you found the resolution to this great, If not I can help
I now how the temp in Fahrenheit on both my 2.4 and 3.2 Nextion screens

Sid
K4Sid

User avatar
W1FJM
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 10:46 pm

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by W1FJM » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:46 pm

Sid, I did NOT figure it out. Please tell me how. Thanks
Fran
W1FJM

K4SID
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:50 am

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by K4SID » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (57.45 KiB) Viewed 3074 times
This is based on not knowing your exact setup and is for the Nextion Screens
Things you may need to do to make this happen
You will need some Linux knowledge

Some entry's I made in the mmdvmhost file at the Linux level

1. ssh into the Linux level,
2. change from rpi-ro to rpi-rw
3. Sudo nano /etc/mmdvmhost
Cap's spacing etc. are important!

For the temp change
scroll down to the [NEXTION] section and at the bottom of the entrys add a line
DisplayTempInFahrenheit=1

While not necessary for the temp change since I was making changes I added the following lines
in the [NEXTIONDRIVER] section at the bottom of those entrys
RemoveDim=0
SleepWhenInactive=0

Save the changes and exit the nano editor and reboot.
you should now see these changes in the pistar expert editor mmdvmhost config file
This is based on not knowing your exact setup and is for the Nextion Screens
Things you may need to do to make this happen
You will need some Linux knowledge

Some entry's I made in the mmdvmhost file at the Linux level

1. ssh into the Linux level,
2. change from rpi-ro to rpi-rw
3. Sudo nano /etc/mmdvmhost
Cap's spacing etc. are important!

For the temp change
scroll down to the [NEXTION] section and at the bottom of the entrys add a line
DisplayTempInFahrenheit=1

While not necessary for the temp change since I was making changes I added the following lines
in the [NEXTIONDRIVER] section at the bottom of those entrys
RemoveDim=0
SleepWhenInactive=0

Save the changes and exit the nano editor and reboot.
you should now see these changes in the pistar expert editor mmdvmhost config file

last thing I did to make this work consistently is update the NextionDriver
If yours is at 1.06 or your not sure
here is a link to instructions on doing that follow them as it updates it will show you
your current version and the version it is being updated to (1.06)
https://github.com/on7lds/NextionDriverInstaller

reboot

If your brave, you can do the below based this link line 7 & 8 of the artical
It is advisable to switch to layout 4, setting your display baudrate to 115200bps
If not, screen updates will be rather slow...
https://github.com/on7lds/NextionDriver ... T-FBtI6P_Q


last thing I did to make this work consistently is update the NextionDriver
If yours is at 1.06 or your not sure
here is a link to instructions on doing that follow them as it updates it will show you
your current version and the version it is being updated to (1.06)
https://github.com/on7lds/NextionDriverInstaller

reboot

If your brave, you can do the below based this link line 7 & 8 of the artical
It is advisable to switch to layout 4, setting your display baudrate to 115200bps
If not, screen updates will be rather slow...
https://github.com/on7lds/NextionDriver ... T-FBtI6P_Q

User avatar
W1FJM
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 10:46 pm

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by W1FJM » Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:26 am

Thank you Sid. Worked great.
Fran
W1FJM

K4SID
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:50 am

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by K4SID » Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:14 am

Glad it worked for you...…
Sid
K4SID

User avatar
WN4EMT
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:01 am
Location: Maiden, NC

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by WN4EMT » Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:46 am

Can you explain to me how to do this again because I am not getting the same display options as you... My Nextion screen is Enhanced 3.2" Simplex, Hotspot is single Hat/Simplex, and for my Nextion options for MMDVM Host I will display below. There is no option for DisplayTempInFarenheit or SleepWhenInactive on my screen. Please help cuz i HATE Celsius! Also I have read every tutorial I could Google and I am not finding anywhere that allows me to see code & change it for the Nextion Editor, and I've been a tech geek for 20+ years now and I'm stumped! Thanks in advance!
Nextion.JPG
Nextion.JPG (58.92 KiB) Viewed 2986 times
David
N1DDC

K8HIT
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:05 pm

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by K8HIT » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:02 pm

WN4EMT wrote:Can you explain to me how to do this again because I am not getting the same display options as you... My Nextion screen is Enhanced 3.2" Simplex, Hotspot is single Hat/Simplex, and for my Nextion options for MMDVM Host I will display below. There is no option for DisplayTempInFarenheit or SleepWhenInactive on my screen. Please help cuz i HATE Celsius! Also I have read every tutorial I could Google and I am not finding anywhere that allows me to see code & change it for the Nextion Editor, and I've been a tech geek for 20+ years now and I'm stumped! Thanks in advance!
Nextion.JPG
Directions are in post 4. You have to edit the file first in order for the option to show in the screen you posted.

User avatar
WN4EMT
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:01 am
Location: Maiden, NC

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by WN4EMT » Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:45 pm

K8HIT wrote:
Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:02 pm
WN4EMT wrote:Can you explain to me how to do this again because I am not getting the same display options as you... My Nextion screen is Enhanced 3.2" Simplex, Hotspot is single Hat/Simplex, and for my Nextion options for MMDVM Host I will display below. There is no option for DisplayTempInFarenheit or SleepWhenInactive on my screen. Please help cuz i HATE Celsius! Also I have read every tutorial I could Google and I am not finding anywhere that allows me to see code & change it for the Nextion Editor, and I've been a tech geek for 20+ years now and I'm stumped! Thanks in advance!

Nextion.JPG
Directions are in post 4. You have to edit the file first in order for the option to show in the screen you posted.
I’m sorry I feel really stupid now. I totally didn’t read the part where you said to ADD the lines underneath the sections I was under the impression they were supposed to be there already. My apologies :D
David
N1DDC

WD0AJG
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:29 am

Re: change temp fro celcious to fahrenheit

Post by WD0AJG » Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:37 pm

The command in MMDVMHOST used to work and show Temperature in F... but as of the last update it now only shows for a few seconds before reverting back to C. I have three hotspots. 2 on PI3A+ and one is duplex on a Pi 3B+ and all with Temp readout on the Nextion now only show C.

WD0AJG

Post Reply