PD0DIB / NX3224T024 missing t21/t22/t23

All things relating to the Nextion Screen(s)
Post Reply
G7OMN
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:46 pm

PD0DIB / NX3224T024 missing t21/t22/t23

Post by G7OMN »

I run Pi-Star on a Pi 2 Model B, with generic MMDVM HAT (12MHz).
I have a NX3224T024 with a modified NX3224T024_Model 10_2.4inch_SMPLX_Basic_v1.05.HMI loaded.
So, the mod is just the mode pages removed for the modes i will not use, to bring it down to a size so it will load into the display (Start, MMDVM, DStar and DMR are retained)
The display is driven from the headers on the modem.

PiStar has the ON7LDS driver installed and it is configured for ON7LDS L3 driver.

Rob PD0DIB notes that fields t21 : CPU frequency, t22 : CPU loadavg 1 min & t23 : Disk free % require the NextionDriver by ON7LDS, however these fields are blank, as are t8, t14, t15, t16 & t17 in the DMR screen.
If I choose G4KLX or ON7LDS L2 options, i have less information displayed as expected.

I'm not really sure what should be visible, as i can't find any example images of this layout in use.
(I've attached a few images of what I am seeing)


Anyone got any idea as to why the fields are not populated?
Reload the driver perhaps?
Is all the CPU/disk free data available on a Pi2B?
KE7FNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: PD0DIB / NX3224T024 missing t21/t22/t23

Post by KE7FNS »

G7OMN wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:37 pm PiStar has the ON7LDS driver installed and it is configured for ON7LDS L3 driver.
That is not the Nextion Driver, that is the Nextion LAYOUT setting.
G7OMN wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:37 pm Rob PD0DIB notes that fields t21 : CPU frequency, t22 : CPU loadavg 1 min & t23 : Disk free % require the NextionDriver by ON7LDS, however these fields are blank, as are t8, t14, t15, t16 & t17 in the DMR screen.
If I choose G4KLX or ON7LDS L2 options, i have less information displayed as expected.
Again, those are different Nextion layout settings, you should be using ON7LDS L3 for modem connected displays, and ON7LDS L3 HS for USB/TTL adapter connected displays.
G7OMN wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:37 pm I'm not really sure what should be visible, as i can't find any example images of this layout in use.
(I've attached a few images of what I am seeing)
I don't see any images attached, but it doesn't really matter.
G7OMN wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:37 pm Anyone got any idea as to why the fields are not populated?
Yes, they are not being displayed because you don't have the Nextion Driver installed and properly configured.

Follow my instructions: (You can start at the line: "Download and run the Nextion Driver Installer.")
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=3397

G7OMN wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:37 pm Reload the driver perhaps?
You need to install the ON7LDS nextion driver and configure it correctly to be able to see the information you are wanting.

PD0DIB's github page specifically noted this requirement.
https://github.com/PD0DIB/Nextion_HAM-r ... w%20Series

Code: Select all

REMARKS:
** ALL MODEL 10 SCREENS ARE DESIGNED TO USE THE ON7LDS NextionDriver **
They will work without the NextionDriver, but some information like CPU Load, CPU Cycles, ... 
will not be displayed and Touch-buttons doesn't work without the NextionDriver (ON7LDS)
See https://github.com/on7lds/NextionDriverInstaller
G7OMN wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:37 pm Is all the CPU/disk free data available on a Pi2B?
Yes.
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:
G7OMN
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:46 pm

Re: PD0DIB / NX3224T024 missing t21/t22/t23

Post by G7OMN »

Thanks.
I went back to the drawing board. I guess i missed the first line of your into and hadn't started with a clean unfettered install.
I went through that and after checking PD0DIB's notes again i noted the option for checking the install, this verified the driver wasn't actually running, even though it had updated from v1.7 to 1.9, so i forced another install, ignored the warnings about space in the tmp folder, rebooted and that fixed it. (so I don't need to go around again and reattach the missing images from the first post now either! )
Post Reply