Update looping

Announcements from the Pi-Star Admin Team
Post Reply
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Update looping

Post by MW0MWZ »

There is a potential issue with updating pi-star where you can run into a never-ending update loop...

The exciting problem here is that this is fixable, but only with manual intervention currently - because while I have fixed the update script, you wont get it if you are already looping....

the following action on the CLI will cure it;

Code: Select all

[email protected](ro):~$ rpi-rw
[email protected](rw):~$ sudo pkill pistar-update
[email protected](rw):~$ sudo rm -rf /usr/local/sbin/pistar-upnp.service
[email protected](rw):~$
From here you can either run the update from the cli or the dashboard and it will fix itself.
I'm building a pre-fixed version of the image that will be uploaded shortly.

EDIT: 4.1.5 image that has been pre-updated has been posted.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Update looping

Post by MW0MWZ »

MW0MWZ wrote: Mon Jun 21, 2021 6:09 pm There is a potential issue with updating pi-star where you can run into a never-ending update loop...

The exciting problem here is that this is fixable, but only with manual intervention currently - because while I have fixed the update script, you wont get it if you are already looping....

the following action on the CLI will cure it;

Code: Select all

[email protected](ro):~$ rpi-rw
[email protected](rw):~$ sudo pkill pistar-update
[email protected](rw):~$ sudo rm -rf /usr/local/sbin/pistar-upnp.service
[email protected](rw):~$
From here you can either run the update from the cli or the dashboard and it will fix itself.
I'm building a pre-fixed version of the image that will be uploaded shortly.

EDIT: 4.1.5 image that has been pre-updated has been posted.
CT2HRB has submitted a patch to help with this, anyone finding their update process looping now only needs to visit the config page or any page in the admin section, and it should cure the loop for them.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
Post Reply