Why did PiStar-Remote DMR commands change?

General support for the Pi-Star System
Post Reply
User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Why did PiStar-Remote DMR commands change?

Post by KE0FHS » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:02 pm

Previously, the PiStar-Remote DMR commands were in the range of 899999x. Then they changed to be in the range of 999999x (maybe when Pi-Star 4.0.0-RC2 or 3 was released?).

However, as Dan, K0TI figured out and shared in a discussion in the Colorado Digital Multiprotocol Telegram group (https://t.me/coloradodigital/2373), the 999999x range is used for BrandMeister AirSecurity (https://wiki.brandmeister.network/index.php/AirSecurity).

There are a couple possible issues with this:
1. When you use one of the 999999x remote commands, even though the command works, you get a message back: "Secret not found."
2. If a user sets up BrandMeister's AirSecurity feature, there might be some conflicts.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

n9mxq
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:12 pm

Re: Why did PiStar-Remote DMR commands change?

Post by n9mxq » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:46 am

Just looked at one of my RC3 boxes, and the remote commands are still the same as they always were. Perhaps an update I missed?
Gene in Belvidere IL
3b+/Duplex Spot (DMR) and
3b+/Duplex Spot (YSF) at home
Pi0W/Zumspot portable (Spare)
Pi0W/Jumbospot while Mobile

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Why did PiStar-Remote DMR commands change?

Post by KE0FHS » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:41 am

Did you do a fresh install of RC3, or did you copy a backup from a previous version into the root directory when you did the first boot up? Mine was a fresh install.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

n9mxq
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:12 pm

Re: Why did PiStar-Remote DMR commands change?

Post by n9mxq » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:03 pm

KE0FHS wrote:
Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:41 am
Did you do a fresh install of RC3, or did you copy a backup from a previous version into the root directory when you did the first boot up? Mine was a fresh install.
Still running the install from when RC3 was released as an upgrade. Nightly updates since then.. and last weekend I ran an upgrade for the OS..

That would explain why mine still has the old commands.
Gene in Belvidere IL
3b+/Duplex Spot (DMR) and
3b+/Duplex Spot (YSF) at home
Pi0W/Zumspot portable (Spare)
Pi0W/Jumbospot while Mobile

Post Reply