remote access with Zerotier

General support for the Pi-Star System
Post Reply
ke4pmp
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 7:13 pm

remote access with Zerotier

Post by ke4pmp »

I upgraded to the latest version against my better judgement especially since our repeater was working so well. Now that I have upgraded to 4.1.4 & try to install zerotier it tells me my card is full. I have a 32gb card surely version 4 is not that large. Anyone had this issue? For now I will have to leave a laptop at the site to remote in to the dashboard. Any thoughts are welcomed.
AF6VN
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: remote access with Zerotier

Post by AF6VN »

What does "df" show for the partition sizes?

I thought Pi-Star was configured to auto-expand the partition to fill the card on first boot (hopefully it isn't checking on every boot).

Code: Select all

[email protected](ro):~$ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/root        15G  1.8G   13G  13% /
devtmpfs        455M     0  455M   0% /dev
tmpfs           487M     0  487M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs            32M  7.5M   25M  24% /run
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
tmpfs            32M     0   32M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           1.0M     0  1.0M   0% /var/lib/nginx/body
tmpfs            64M   12M   53M  19% /var/log
tmpfs            64M  8.0K   64M   1% /tmp
tmpfs           1.0M   72K  952K   8% /var/cache/samba
tmpfs            16K  4.0K   12K  25% /var/lib/logrotate
tmpfs           4.0M  2.2M  1.9M  54% /var/lib/samba/private
tmpfs            64K     0   64K   0% /var/lib/php/sessions
tmpfs            32K   16K   16K  50% /var/lib/dhcpcd5
tmpfs            16K     0   16K   0% /var/lib/sudo
/dev/mmcblk0p1   63M   50M   14M  79% /boot
tmpfs            98M     0   98M   0% /run/user/1000
[email protected](ro):~$

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber
KE7FNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1805
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: remote access with Zerotier

Post by KE7FNS »

ke4pmp wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 6:49 pm I upgraded to the latest version against my better judgement especially since our repeater was working so well. Now that I have upgraded to 4.1.4 & try to install zerotier it tells me my card is full. I have a 32gb card surely version 4 is not that large. Anyone had this issue? For now I will have to leave a laptop at the site to remote in to the dashboard. Any thoughts are welcomed.
Pi-star is not that large to take up an entire SD card, perhaps the program you are trying to install is trying to use another mount point that is low on space and not the standard "/" where all of the extra space is located. Or maybe you are not setting the system to read/write mode and since it can't write to the disk it is throwing an error saying it is out of space instead of saying it is write protected.
AF6VN wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 8:19 pm I thought Pi-Star was configured to auto-expand the partition to fill the card on first boot (hopefully it isn't checking on every boot).
It does, Andy uses a script that does check for the existence of a file in /boot, so yes it checks for that file every boot, but it only expands the volume if that file is missing which only happens on the first boot or if something deleted that file somehow.
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:
AF6VN
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: remote access with Zerotier

Post by AF6VN »

KE7FNS wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 11:21 pm
ke4pmp wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 6:49 pm I upgraded to the latest version against my better judgement especially since our repeater was working so well. Now that I have upgraded to 4.1.4 & try to install zerotier it tells me my card is full. I have a 32gb card surely version 4 is not that large. Anyone had this issue? For now I will have to leave a laptop at the site to remote in to the dashboard. Any thoughts are welcomed.
Pi-star is not that large to take up an entire SD card, perhaps the program you are trying to install is trying to use another mount point that is low on space and not the standard "/" where all of the extra space is located. Or maybe you are not setting the system to read/write mode and since it can't write to the disk it is throwing an error saying it is out of space instead of saying it is write protected.
A candidate might be /tmp -- if the install requires compiling/linking to create a binary. Since one requires an account to download the DEB file (presuming there is one for armhf Debian) I can't experiment. I'm definitely not going to download and build from source...

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber
KE7FNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1805
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: remote access with Zerotier

Post by KE7FNS »

AF6VN wrote: Mon May 03, 2021 2:59 am A candidate might be /tmp -- if the install requires compiling/linking to create a binary. Since one requires an account to download the DEB file (presuming there is one for armhf Debian) I can't experiment. I'm definitely not going to download and build from source...
Me either, the OP is pretty much on their own as this is one of those things that doesn't really have anything to do with Pi-star.
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:
Post Reply