STM32-DVM RSSI

MMDVM_HS Hat hardware
Post Reply
VA7WPN
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:51 am

STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by VA7WPN » Sat May 19, 2018 5:17 pm

What... have I done wrong here?

received RF end of transmission, 1.9 seconds, BER: 0.0%, RSSI: -141/-141/-141 dBm

MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by MW0MWZ » Sat May 19, 2018 7:03 pm

/usr/local/etc/RSSI.dat is not populated would be my guess.

There is an editor for that in the expert section.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk

VA7WPN
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:51 am

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by VA7WPN » Sat May 19, 2018 7:56 pm

This is what is in that file :

# This file maps the raw RSSI values to dBm values to send to the DMR network. A number of data
# points should be entered and the software will use those to work out the in-between values.
#
# The format of the file is:
# Raw RSSI Value dBm Value
#
#
# RSSI Default Values for MMDVM_HS
#
43 -43
53 -53
63 -63
73 -73
83 -83
93 -93
99 -99
105 -105
111 -111
117 -117
123 -123
129 -129
135 -135
141 -141

Here is a snipet of my traffic. RSSI shows as S1

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (45.38 KiB) Viewed 694 times

VA7WPN
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:51 am

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by VA7WPN » Sat May 19, 2018 8:11 pm

I have updated my RSSI file as below according to http://va2dg.ca/wp/wp-content/uploads/2 ... -board.pdf:

# This file maps the raw RSSI values to dBm values to send to the DMR network. A number of data
# points should be entered and the software will use those to work out the in-between values.
#
# The format of the file is:
# Raw RSSI Value dBm Value
#
#
# RSSI Default Values for MMDVM_HS
#
# 43 -43
# 53 -53
# 63 -63
# 73 -73
# 83 -83
# 93 -93
# 99 -99
# 105 -105
# 111 -111
# 117 -117
# 123 -123
# 129 -129
# 135 -135
# 141 -141
346 -137
381 -124
443 -115
485 -110
560 -100
629 -90
698 -80
740 -75
787 -70
819 -65
830 -60
832 -55

And now My Dashboard says :

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (14.73 KiB) Viewed 693 times

MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by MW0MWZ » Mon May 21, 2018 7:46 pm

RSSI values depend on the radio - the stock values are there for MMDVM_HS units that support RSSI, if you use anything else, yes you may well need to tune it...
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk

VA7WPN
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:51 am

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by VA7WPN » Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:37 am

How do I go about testing and Determining the RSSI Values for my specific radios?

Does Motorola offer this info? or do I need to use a Service monitor or Spectrum Analyzer to figure this out?

thanks

K7AZ
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:24 pm

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by K7AZ » Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:19 pm

I too would like to have a procedure to obtain values to enter in the look up table.
I have access to an HP service monitor if that helps. I realize this will be a non-linear data table.
To further compound things, Repeater-Builder V3 board has a pot to adjust the RSSI voltage.

Many thanks in advance for help with this.

73
Chris K7AZ

ZL2ARL
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:38 am

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Post by ZL2ARL » Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:04 am

Definitely following this thread!

Post Reply