Page 1 of 1

STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 5:17 pm
by VA7WPN
What... have I done wrong here?

received RF end of transmission, 1.9 seconds, BER: 0.0%, RSSI: -141/-141/-141 dBm

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 7:03 pm
by MW0MWZ
/usr/local/etc/RSSI.dat is not populated would be my guess.

There is an editor for that in the expert section.

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 7:56 pm
by VA7WPN
This is what is in that file :

# This file maps the raw RSSI values to dBm values to send to the DMR network. A number of data
# points should be entered and the software will use those to work out the in-between values.
#
# The format of the file is:
# Raw RSSI Value dBm Value
#
#
# RSSI Default Values for MMDVM_HS
#
43 -43
53 -53
63 -63
73 -73
83 -83
93 -93
99 -99
105 -105
111 -111
117 -117
123 -123
129 -129
135 -135
141 -141

Here is a snipet of my traffic. RSSI shows as S1

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (45.38 KiB) Viewed 2039 times

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 8:11 pm
by VA7WPN
I have updated my RSSI file as below according to http://va2dg.ca/wp/wp-content/uploads/2 ... -board.pdf:

# This file maps the raw RSSI values to dBm values to send to the DMR network. A number of data
# points should be entered and the software will use those to work out the in-between values.
#
# The format of the file is:
# Raw RSSI Value dBm Value
#
#
# RSSI Default Values for MMDVM_HS
#
# 43 -43
# 53 -53
# 63 -63
# 73 -73
# 83 -83
# 93 -93
# 99 -99
# 105 -105
# 111 -111
# 117 -117
# 123 -123
# 129 -129
# 135 -135
# 141 -141
346 -137
381 -124
443 -115
485 -110
560 -100
629 -90
698 -80
740 -75
787 -70
819 -65
830 -60
832 -55

And now My Dashboard says :

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (14.73 KiB) Viewed 2038 times

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 7:46 pm
by MW0MWZ
RSSI values depend on the radio - the stock values are there for MMDVM_HS units that support RSSI, if you use anything else, yes you may well need to tune it...

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:37 am
by VA7WPN
How do I go about testing and Determining the RSSI Values for my specific radios?

Does Motorola offer this info? or do I need to use a Service monitor or Spectrum Analyzer to figure this out?

thanks

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:19 pm
by K7AZ
I too would like to have a procedure to obtain values to enter in the look up table.
I have access to an HP service monitor if that helps. I realize this will be a non-linear data table.
To further compound things, Repeater-Builder V3 board has a pot to adjust the RSSI voltage.

Many thanks in advance for help with this.

73
Chris K7AZ

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:04 am
by ZL2ARL
Definitely following this thread!

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 1:00 pm
by M6NBP
K7AZ wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:19 pm
I too would like to have a procedure to obtain values to enter in the look up table.
I have access to an HP service monitor if that helps. I realize this will be a non-linear data table.
To further compound things, Repeater-Builder V3 board has a pot to adjust the RSSI voltage.

Many thanks in advance for help with this.

73
Chris K7AZ

Did you ever find out how to set the Repeater-Builder V3 board RSSI voltage pot?

Many thanks

Norman

Re: STM32-DVM RSSI

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 9:12 pm
by ct1dvm
VA7WPN wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:37 am
How do I go about testing and Determining the RSSI Values for my specific radios?

Does Motorola offer this info? or do I need to use a Service monitor or Spectrum Analyzer to figure this out?

thanks
Yes the hotspot range wont have anything to do with your real mmdvm system, What is the node radio ?
We can find a list for that and also using loglevel 1 during testing is beneficial for the raw values.
Also you will need to check your radio rssi i/o is connect correctly and levels are within the board spec input preferably 3.3v or less.