RF tx and rx problems

MMDVM_HS Hat hardware
VK4LGW

RF tx and rx problems

Post by VK4LGW »

I've just received an MMDVM HS Hat which I bought from Florian (just so you know it's not a clone one). I'm trying to connect via the DMR+ Australian server to link to reflector 4800 as that's connected to TG505 which is our national talkgroup.

I can see incoming traffic on the dashboard. It's matching traffic I can see on the vkdmr dashboard.

I'm not able to receive or transmit via this hotspot though.

I'm aware that many people need to change the tx and rx offset. I've done this starting at -1000 through to +1000 in steps of 100, without any change.

I've used the current version using a Raspberry Pi 3B and the beta version using a Raspberry Pi 3B+. (I bought the 3B+ just in case my Pi happened to be faulty.)

I've used other hotspots before, but this is my first time using mmdvm type devices, so in that respect, I'm a newbie. Can anyone offer other suggestions on how I can work out what's happening and how to fix it? I'd prefer to be able to learn about it and work it out myself, but I'm at a loss at the moment.

I don't even know if it's a software or hardware issue. I'm primarily likely to be using this on DMR, but I do have a d-star radio too. I haven't been able to receive or transmit on that radio either, although I haven't gone through the tx and rx offset changes using my d-star radio.

As I sit here and look at it, there's a green led which is steady and the red led marked SVC is flashing at about twice per second. When there's a transmission on TG505 / Refl4800, the orange DMR led lights and on the dashboard.

At the moment, pi-star has the status as listening on TG9/REFL4800 and CC1 which is what I expect. My radio is set to TG9 and works fine with other hotspots. The frequencies I'm trying to use are 439.125 or 439.150 as these are the two internet gateway frequencies used in Australia and recommended in the Australian band plan.