Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

MMDVM_HS Hat hardware
KD4VTZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:28 pm

Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by KD4VTZ » Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:47 am

Hi everyone-

I bought a duplex hs hat board off of AliExpress ... hooked it up to my rpi3 and upgraded pi-star and mmdvm to the latest version has hat 1.4.6. I have no rx. I have tried changing RXDCOffset in +/- 100 offsets up to 1300 but no luck. Also my dmr etwork indicator is red on the status page. Any thoughts on where I am going wrong here?


The board I bought

http://s.aliexpress.com/VZ7ZBFZv

User avatar
VK7HSE
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by VK7HSE » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:33 pm

Did you flash the correct firmware?

sudo pistar-mmdvmhshatflash hs_dual_hat

Anything else and that's most likely why it's not working, plus you need to make sure that you are using the largest frequency separation possible to overcome the problem of desence from the transmit side

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


KD4VTZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by KD4VTZ » Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:12 am

Thanks for the response.

Yes I used the command you noted to upgrade. It took me from 1.3.3 to 1.4.6.

Frequency spacing is 435.500 rx and 440.500 tx.

It seems like I read a thread about having to change a password after firmware update but I can’t find it

User avatar
VK7HSE
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by VK7HSE » Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:44 am

KD4VTZ wrote:Thanks for the response.

Yes I used the command you noted to upgrade. It took me from 1.3.3 to 1.4.6.

Frequency spacing is 435.500 rx and 440.500 tx.

It seems like I read a thread about having to change a password after firmware update but I can’t find it
I didn't need to change the password after the update, unless you have some custom setup through brandmeister...

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


KD4VTZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by KD4VTZ » Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:46 am

Well scratch that. I tried your firmware command and now I am able to see DMR login as successful.

Now i am playing with offsets to see if I can get an RX signal from my MD380.

n0xlf
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by n0xlf » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:07 am

That board appears to be identical to what I got - I can only get it to work with the STM32-DVM modem setting in simplex mode. Duplex mode doesn't work for me at all..

2E0LGZ
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:10 pm

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by 2E0LGZ » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:24 am

I have the same board and in the configuration i just set the RX offset to 500 (as per sticker on the board) and left the TX on 0 and works well

KD4VTZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by KD4VTZ » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:40 pm

2E0LGZ wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:24 am
I have the same board and in the configuration i just set the RX offset to 500 (as per sticker on the board) and left the TX on 0 and works well
What firmware are you on? I have tried the 500 as suggested and still no RX. I am wondering if it changed after the firmware update. I still have not been able to get this working.

2E0LGZ
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:10 pm

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by 2E0LGZ » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:51 pm

Firmware 1.4.6 tx offset 0 rx offset 500 you could maybe try 475? and work around that area maybe? hope it helps
2E0LGZ

User avatar
VK7HSE
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Hs hat duplex no rx and no Dmr login

Post by VK7HSE » Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:18 pm

I'm using a -425 rx offset with firmware 1.4.6 on mine. However I am using the maximum amount of seperation 430.5-449.5 giving me 19MHz between the two... YMMV

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


Post Reply