Page 2 of 2

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:45 am
by N8ODV
KE0FHS wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:57 pm
Thanks for sharing your work figuring this out, Bruce!
No problems, I'm admittedly not the sharpest tool in the shed, but, I always figure knowledge is more valuable, the more you share it. If I can help someone else, it helps pay back for all the things I've learned from others.

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 12:25 am
by KG5ZOK
Here is the Linux shell script that I created to automate the steps listed here for updating. It will prompt for the version, and append that information to the steps needed to download and install that version. For example, if you want to download the V326_RPI version, that is what you would enter.

Standard warning: this script appears to function correctly, but I am not responsible for its use on your machine. Only use this if you know what you are doing.

Feel free to adjust as you see fit to meet your needs.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
clear
read -p "Please enter upgrade version (ex.:V326_RPI): " version
cd /tmp
wget http://www.pistar.uk/downloads/dvmega-flash-tools.zip
wget http://www.dvmega.auria.nl/images/DVMEGA_RH_$version.zip
unzip -d dvmega dvmega-flash-tools.zip
unzip -j -d dvmega DVMEGA_RH_$version.zip
cd dvmega/
file=_JAPAN.hex
sudo rm DVMEGA_RH_$version$file
sudo ./flash_gpio.sh

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:59 am
by N8ODV
Cool script, thanks for posting.

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:48 pm
by K0CJC
I've burned a couple extra ATMega chips with different firmware. That way on the Single Channel Hat I can just pop out the chip and put in the new one with the latest firmware without voiding warranties, etc. If anyone would like a spare chip pre-loaded with the DVMega firmware send me a PM and we can work something out.

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:47 pm
by Kb9mnm
I, too, am getting the time out error when trying to flash. I have the single band board and pi-star has upgraded the firmware before. Is it necessary for the wire to be soldered? I've heard conflicting answers. Thoughts?

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:53 pm
by KE0FHS
Kb9mnm wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:47 pm
I, too, am getting the time out error when trying to flash. I have the single band board and pi-star has upgraded the firmware before. Is it necessary for the wire to be soldered? I've heard conflicting answers. Thoughts?
Can you provide more details?
Is your DVMEGA mounted on an RPi? If so, then you do need to solder the wire if you want to upgrade the firmware from Pi-Star. To see the soldered wire diagram for the single band board mounted on an RPi, take a look here: https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star-notes.htm#viarpi
What version of Pi-Star are you running? There was an issue with Pi-Star 4.0.0-RC3 not being able to upgrade the DVMEGA firmware, but that should be fixed in Pi-Star 4.0.0-RC4.

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:03 pm
by KE0FHS
One other thing: I've noticed that the dvmega.nl website hasn't been reachable for a couple days, so if you're getting a time out when attempting to run the step that downloads the firmware zip file from there, that could be why. Unfortunately, it looks like the alternative site is also experiencing issues with their downloads not being available: http://www.dv-mega.co.uk/Downloads.html

Oh, never mind, it looks like dvmega.nl is blocking my VPN service (Mullvad). When I disconnected from the VPN, I was able to reach dvmega.nl just fine. Strange, I don't run into that very often.

Re: Using Pistar to flash DVMEGA hat on a RPi

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 10:30 pm
by Kb9mnm
I’m running my raspberry pi 2 with the dvmega. The time out error is happening when trying flash the eprom. Kind of makes me nervous to solder the wire only because 1) I’m not a good solder-er 2) see #1. I do have the Arduino board that I’ve used before to update it so maybe I’ll stick to that process.
****update***
Successfully updated to 3.26 via the Uno board. :P