Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Help with D-Star related issues
KE7FNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1935
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by KE7FNS »

VA3UV wrote: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:12 am I may be on to something.... I spun up a new hotspot last night and DTMF is working fine - one thing I noticed is that when you use the Pi-Star Admin Menu -> D-STAR Link Manager, it invokes remotecontrold (which I noticed on my functioning hotspot).

On one of my repeaters, I do not see the 'remotecontrold' daemon being called (and hence I am unable to link and unlink manually).
Technically remotecontrold is not a daemon, there does not appear to be any service associated with it that I could find. It is just an application that is run that does some tasks depending on the parameters sent to it. It appears to be part of the ircDDBGateway software suite.
VA3UV wrote: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:12 am On my other repeater, remotecontrold is called and I am able to link and unlink manually.

Despite this variance, neither repeater responds to DTMF commands.

Wonder if remotecontrold is the hint here?
I doubt it. Remotecontrold is executed from the link manager php code like you said, so I don't think it has anything to do with listening for DTMF tones. DTMF capture and decoding appears to be inside of ircDDBGateway.

You need to figure out what the differences are between your multiple setups, maybe they are not fully updated to 4.1.4 and running the latest version of the dashboard.
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:
M1DNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 910
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by M1DNS »

Yep. dtmf linking ability is handled by ircddbgateway.

The last round of updates pushed a newer vers. of MMDVMhost and a newer ircddbgateway.


Sent via smoke signals from my SM-G935F M1DNS (Admin)



Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by MW0MWZ »

Andrew alerted me to this issue this morning;

Here are the current findings:
1. ircDDBGateway does process the DTMF to link to whatever you called via DTMF, however it will only do that if it receives the DTMF frames.
2. MMDVMHost has been patched in the past (end of Nov 2020), and that patch broke the DTMF frames somehow - this is being investigated.

So, just to re-cap, ircDDBGateway is not at fault, MMDVMHost has some minor problem with the handling of DTMF frames - we'll know more soon.
As soon as there is a fix, we will pull it in.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
g0lgj
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 am

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by g0lgj »

Thanks for the update.
Mark
VA3UV
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by VA3UV »

MW0MWZ wrote: Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:31 am Andrew alerted me to this issue this morning;

Here are the current findings:
1. ircDDBGateway does process the DTMF to link to whatever you called via DTMF, however it will only do that if it receives the DTMF frames.
2. MMDVMHost has been patched in the past (end of Nov 2020), and that patch broke the DTMF frames somehow - this is being investigated.

So, just to re-cap, ircDDBGateway is not at fault, MMDVMHost has some minor problem with the handling of DTMF frames - we'll know more soon.
As soon as there is a fix, we will pull it in.
Hi Andy; OK, thanks for the update. This is somewhat reassuring as I can stop going through config files trying find the key!

Good luck with the solution.

Ramesh, VA3UV, WA3UV, G4PNQ
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by MW0MWZ »

We have identified the issue - in as much as I know what code is causing the problem and why - its part of a set of changes to support fast data on D-Star.

I have a fix that works for DTMF, but might break D-Star fast data. Currently testing that, if it passes the smoke test, I'll push it out today for you to test it.

See here for updates: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3691
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
g0lgj
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 am

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by g0lgj »

Hi updated and all working for me .
Many thanks for your efforts
Mark G0LGJ
VA3UV
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by VA3UV »

MW0MWZ wrote: Thu Jun 17, 2021 3:22 pm We have identified the issue - in as much as I know what code is causing the problem and why - its part of a set of changes to support fast data on D-Star.

I have a fix that works for DTMF, but might break D-Star fast data. Currently testing that, if it passes the smoke test, I'll push it out today for you to test it.

See here for updates: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3691
Hi Andy: Working on both of my repeaters now - thanks!!

Any thoughts on why I am unable to edit ircddbgateway config file on one of my systems?

Thanks!

Ramesh, VA3UV, WA3UV, G4PNQ
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Loss of DTMF Decoding PLUS loss of ability to edit ircddbgateway config file from Expert Menu

Post by MW0MWZ »

Best guess is that you have a field with special characters in it that is not in quotes, or that you have a password that includes a quote mark in it.
either of those can confuse the dashboard when it reads the file for editing.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
Post Reply