Pi Desktop

Help with D-Star related issues
G0LAT
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:32 pm

Pi Desktop

Post by G0LAT » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:20 pm

Hi, I have just re-installed the Pi-Star image, Pi-Star_RPi_V3.4.17_20-Jan-2019, but it doesn't work. SO I reverted to the Dec 18 image.
I have my dvmega working now, but I cannot get the Raspberry Pi Homepage to load, hence can't add IRCDDB etc.
Any ideas.
Thanks

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by KE0FHS » Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:46 pm

Define "doesn't work."

FYI, I've used the Pi-Star_RPi_V3.4.17_20-Jan-2019 image on multiple hotspots, including a DVMEGA + RPi hotspot, and it worked/works just fine.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

G0LAT
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by G0LAT » Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:15 pm

It loads, but my dvmega wont connect. The Dec 2018 version works fine, but as I said I can't get the Pi desktop to load

M1DNS
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by M1DNS » Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:34 am

G0LAT wrote:It loads, but my dvmega wont connect. The Dec 2018 version works fine, but as I said I can't get the Pi desktop to load
Try this...
Use the Dec release to save a backup.
Download/burn/install the new release then restore from the
saved backup file...
Sounds to me like something in ur new setup isn't configured correctly,
restoring the config from a backup, might correct whatever might be configured incorrectly.

Your also referencing the pi desktop, there's no desktop with pistar it's CLI
Maybe you mean you can't get the dashboard to load up ???

Andrew M1DNS, (Mod)


Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.

G0LAT
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by G0LAT » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:15 pm

I tried that and no difference.
It is the dashboard/homepage I cannot get up on the screen to be able to change band, reflectors etc. I just have the Pi-Star box showing the version and a couple of lines of text and the flashing cursor.
I have tried to get past it using various commands prefixed with sudo, but to no avail. I can reboots the dvmega and that's about all.
I need to find an older img to use, as I am sure that would get me back to a previous state where it all worked.
My pi and dvmega are 4 years old and probably running a very early version.
Its very frustrating as I cant change from REF 01C.
It all happened as I was trying to configure to use the MMDVM and connect my DMR radio instead of just a Dstar hotspot.
I should have left it alone.....

KE7FNS
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by KE7FNS » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:43 pm

It sounds like you have a monitor hooked to your RPi that is displaying a terminal.

The dashboard needs to be accessed from another computer using a web browser.

To do that properly, you need to know the hostname or the IP address, it should be displayed on the terminal screen.

Code: Select all

╔═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
║                                                                       ║
║           ██████╗ ██╗      ███████╗████████╗ █████╗ ██████╗           ║
║           ██╔══██╗██║      ██╔════╝╚══██╔══╝██╔══██╗██╔══██╗          ║
║           ██████╔╝██║█████╗███████╗   ██║   ███████║██████╔╝          ║
║           ██╔═══╝ ██║╚════╝╚════██║   ██║   ██╔══██║██╔══██╗          ║
║           ██║     ██║      ███████║   ██║   ██║  ██║██║  ██║          ║
║           ╚═╝     ╚═╝      ╚══════╝   ╚═╝   ╚═╝  ╚═╝╚═╝  ╚═╝          ║
║                                                                       ║
╚═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╝
The Pi-Star Dashboard can be found at one of the following locations:
http://pi-star/  http://pi-star.local/   http://192.168.1.101/
Your name or assigned IP address might be different.

If you don't see the name or IP address type the following in the terminal screen.

Name:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/hostname
IP:

Code: Select all

ifconfig | grep inet
Then use a different computer/device to access the dashboard.
All views, comments, posts and opinions shared are entirely my own.

G0LAT
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by G0LAT » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:00 am

I have the Pi-Star dashboard.
It is the screen where you can figure the settings, IRCDDB, Band/frequency etc I am trying to access.
IMG_9504.JPEG
IMG_9504.JPEG (66.19 KiB) Viewed 190 times
IMG_9505.JPEG
IMG_9505.JPEG (94.1 KiB) Viewed 190 times
I have shown the dashboard and my other screen where I am trying to get into the settings.

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by KE0FHS » Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:42 pm

G0LAT wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:00 am
I have the Pi-Star dashboard.
It is the screen where you can figure the settings, IRCDDB, Band/frequency etc I am trying to access.
When you are looking at the Pi-Star Dashboard Configuration page (your second screen shot), click the Expert button.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

G0LAT
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by G0LAT » Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:53 pm

Thank you for the info.

I have looked through all the options on the Expert tab, but it doesn't look like the tabs on the pi desktop that I know where to change settings.

Looks like I will be stuck on REF001C

Thank you again.

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Pi Desktop

Post by KE0FHS » Mon Oct 21, 2019 4:59 pm

The DStarRepeater Controller Software is for older hardware like the DVAP or DVRPTR. For the DVMEGA, you can use MMDVMHost. (If the firmware on your DVMEGA is older than 3.07, you should update it to a more recent version like 3.19 or 3.26; see https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star-notes.htm#viarpi). Using the DStarRepeater Controller Software may be what is causing your issue.

You can change the Default Reflector in the D-Star Configuration section, and you also can choose whether it links automatically on startup or only manually when you want to link.

You can link to and unlink from reflectors on the Admin page using the D-Star Link Manager. Of course, you also can link and unlink from your radio.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

Post Reply