DSTAR Repeater - Terminal Mode over TCP/IP-Bluetooth

Help with D-Star related issues
NI9K

DSTAR Repeater - Terminal Mode over TCP/IP-Bluetooth

Post by NI9K »

All,

I currently have my Pi-Star setup as a DSTAR Repeater and am using it connected via USB to my IC-705. This works quite well with the exception of a few bugs that could probably be tweaked with some additional modifications. While USB works fine I’m interested to know if anyone has been able to get this to work over Bluetooth or via the Internal WLAN. Utilizing Bluetooth could the IC-705 present as a Modem like it does via USB? Could an additional feature of PiStar be created to function in some capacity like the new G3 gateways or the XLX gateways where you could direct attach via the Internal Gateway of the IC-9700 or IC-705 and then use the normal DSTAR linking / unlinking of Gateways and Reflectors.
In its current setup using the Internal Gateway seems more cumbersome than it should be.

I’m relatively new to PiStar and Terminal mode so if there are others that understand more about this and could add some information I’d be glad for your feedback!

Thanks!
73 de NI9K
NI9K

Re: DSTAR Repeater - Terminal Mode over TCP/IP-Bluetooth

Post by NI9K »

I wasn’t aware of it being disabled on the PiStar Image but I like your idea of a USB Bluetooth Adapter. As for how the radio presents itself when in Terminal Mode via Bluetooth I need to check later. I’ll provide an update then

Thanks for the info!

-Nick
NI9K

Post by NI9K »

From Icom.co.uk

What version of Bluetooth does the IC-705 use?

Version 4.2. (Details below)

• Transmission Output: Class 2
• Profile: HFP, HSP, SPP, GATT (Serial) over LE
• The maximum number of paired Bluetooth devices either headsets or data devices are a maximum 4 devices, and the combination is 5 devices in total.
• Device name: ICOM BT(IC-705) (default value).
• Passkey: 0000 (four zeros)

05/01/2021

Looking at this suggests that it present as a Serial Device.
NI9K