DSTAR Repeater - Terminal Mode over TCP/IP-Bluetooth

Help with D-Star related issues
NI9K

DSTAR Repeater - Terminal Mode over TCP/IP-Bluetooth

Post by NI9K »

All,

I currently have my Pi-Star setup as a DSTAR Repeater and am using it connected via USB to my IC-705. This works quite well with the exception of a few bugs that could probably be tweaked with some additional modifications. While USB works fine I’m interested to know if anyone has been able to get this to work over Bluetooth or via the Internal WLAN. Utilizing Bluetooth could the IC-705 present as a Modem like it does via USB? Could an additional feature of PiStar be created to function in some capacity like the new G3 gateways or the XLX gateways where you could direct attach via the Internal Gateway of the IC-9700 or IC-705 and then use the normal DSTAR linking / unlinking of Gateways and Reflectors.
In its current setup using the Internal Gateway seems more cumbersome than it should be.

I’m relatively new to PiStar and Terminal mode so if there are others that understand more about this and could add some information I’d be glad for your feedback!

Thanks!
73 de NI9K
KE7FNS
Pi-Star Team

Re: DSTAR Repeater - Terminal Mode over TCP/IP-Bluetooth

Post by KE7FNS »

NI9K wrote: Mon Mar 08, 2021 6:17 pm Utilizing Bluetooth could the IC-705 present as a Modem like it does via USB?
I'm not familiar with that radio, but when you connect it to something like a Windows machine with Bluetooth enabled does the device manager list a Bluetooth Serial Device? If it does then maybe it'd be possible but might require some special programming. If it doesn't then no. Its really up to the programming in the radio and whatever modules it enables over a Bluetooth connection.

Another problem is Bluetooth on the RPi is disabled in Pi-star because the serial port needed to use what the Bluetooth was using, so you'd have to add a USB bluetooth adapter.