2 dvrptr boards at once

DVR-PTR V1, V2 and V3 Support
Post Reply
VE3MJM
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:58 pm

2 dvrptr boards at once

Post by VE3MJM » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:54 pm

Hi All
Can we run 2 dvrptr v1 boards on one pi with pistar at the same time; one on vhf and one uhf( module B and C)?
Thanks
Don

User avatar
VK7HSE
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 dvrptr boards at once

Post by VK7HSE » Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:52 pm

No, mmdvm was not designed to be as a multi host system. So it's single device only.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


VE3MJM
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: 2 dvrptr boards at once

Post by VE3MJM » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:59 pm

Thanks for the reply.

No sure we explained this.

The question is, Can Pi-Star support 2 DVRPTR BOARDS at once. Want to run two simplex DSTAR(only) nodes. One on V and the other on U.

If you do "CONFIG" "EXPERT' "DSTARREPEATER" ; there are multiple settings for DVRTPR one and two and three.
eg
dvrptr1Port=
dvrptr2Port=
dvrptr3Port=

We only want to run DSTAR, and that is all you can run when you configure PISTAR to a "Dstarrepeater" and not to "MMDVMHost"

VK7HSE, do you have or have you used a DVRPTR board? A DVRPTR V1 board is not multi mode board, as far as I know. I could be wrong.
If you are correct, why would there be setting for 3 DVRPTR boards?

73
Don

ct1dvm
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:34 am

Re: 2 dvrptr boards at once

Post by ct1dvm » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:51 pm

VE3MJM wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:59 pm
Thanks for the reply.

No sure we explained this.

The question is, Can Pi-Star support 2 DVRPTR BOARDS at once. Want to run two simplex DSTAR(only) nodes. One on V and the other on U.

If you do "CONFIG" "EXPERT' "DSTARREPEATER" ; there are multiple settings for DVRTPR one and two and three.
eg
dvrptr1Port=
dvrptr2Port=
dvrptr3Port=

We only want to run DSTAR, and that is all you can run when you configure PISTAR to a "Dstarrepeater" and not to "MMDVMHost"

VK7HSE, do you have or have you used a DVRPTR board? A DVRPTR V1 board is not multi mode board, as far as I know. I could be wrong.
If you are correct, why would there be setting for 3 DVRPTR boards?

73
Don
They are differrent types of devices, re type 1,2 & 3. You would need to run a 2nd instance of dstarrepeater to run a 2nd dvrptrV1. Quite doable.

Post Reply