Hotspots for use in EMO and radio coms for other events.

Help with DMR issues
VE9SY

Hotspots for use in EMO and radio coms for other events.

Post by VE9SY »

OK as most posts start out, I'm new to DMR. I bought my Zumspot a little over a year ago, and ordered a cheap DMR radio right away. So I got the Zumspot set up, and once I got the radio, I started to play with it. I then hear that this Baofeng (ya I know) was blocked on repeaters. My understanding is it can be used on a hot spot because the hot spot only uses TS2 so no issues. Is this correct??

Then I bought the all new one that was guaranteed to work on the repeaters. It worked for some, but not others. Having said that, I finally said the heck with it and got a Retevis. I watched a great video on programing it, and just followed along changing what needed to be changed for our local repeater. Wow it worked. SO I make a few channels is a second zone for my hot spot and yea it works!!!!! After a whole year I say my Zumspot come to life!!!!

Now After reading a few posts here, I understand that programing is basically pointing everything to TS2 then the code to connect to who you want to connect to.

Now for the fun one! OK a couple of times a year we are involved with the MS society for a walk and a 2 day bike tour. Plus we do EMO. EMO isn't to big of a deal, as we have multiple systems connecting most of the province but there is still some gaps. For the Bike tour we due, we are finding every year that out coverage on 2 meters is getting worse with poor coverage. Is there a way that we can set up our hotspots to allow all 6 to 12 of us can be connected to each other through the hotspots without tying up a reflector or talk group? this is the big $64,000 question. WE don't want to tie anything up if we can help it. Can WE have a private talk group some how? I hope I haven't made this confusing. I'm a little confused right now trying to figure this out..
VE1AIC