Disable Sending APRS Information

Help with DMR issues
User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by KE0FHS » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:08 pm

Thanks! It's a nice community, eh?! Hams helping other hams and contributing to the hobby in so many different ways. I'm glad I can toss my two bits into the ring. And thanks for everything you do to help other hams, too!

By the way, since I added NOAPRS as a Priority Message this morning, no more packets being sent.

Now over the next few days I'm going to try toggling some of the other settings one by one to see what effect they have, if any, on APRS packets being sent:
1. D-STAR mode enabled (DMR mode disabled).
2. D-STAR mode enabled (DMR mode disabled) and lnked to a D-STAR reflector.
3. Expert Editor > ircddbgateway > aprsEnabled = 1 (and repeat 1 and 2).
4. Expert Editor > DMR GW > Info > Enabled = 1.
5. Expert Editor > DMR GW > DMR Network 2 > Enabled = 1.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

n9mxq
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:12 pm

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by n9mxq » Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:55 pm

We work as a team, and learn as a team.. I'm learning as i go also.. Thanks for sharing.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Gene in Belvidere IL
Please don't email me with questions.
That's what these forums are for.
There's much more brainpower collected here
than I have alone.

NY5AR
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:54 am

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by NY5AR » Sat Jul 07, 2018 12:37 am

Thank You KH6HZ for posing this information. My APRS reporting was coming from N3FE-15 and I could not
figure out how to stop it. Since implementing NOAPRS to my Brandmeister settings I have not seen any reporting
in over 5 hours!

Vince - NY5AR

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by KE0FHS » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:20 pm

Okay, report back: after adding NOAPRS as a Priority Message in the BrandMeister My hotspots settings, nothing else I enabled or tried so far in Pi-Star has triggered sending APRS info.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

n9mxq
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:12 pm

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by n9mxq » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:52 pm

Sounds like an addendum to Playing with Pi-star is in order ;-)

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Gene in Belvidere IL
Please don't email me with questions.
That's what these forums are for.
There's much more brainpower collected here
than I have alone.

AA7BG
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 4:24 pm

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by AA7BG » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:17 pm

Found this a while back on GITHUB so I thought I would share it again for others wondering where your BM connected HS or repeater APRS location comes from. Note the section on "skipping APRS reporting". Cheers
================================================================================
bm-rpt2aprs

Uploads repeaters of a Brandmeister network to APRS.

The script queries repeater and hotspot IDs of a Brandmeister network ID from the DBUS-API, queries location and other data from the API, and uploads them to the APRS-IS as objects.

Usage
•You'll need PHP CLI (ex. php5-cli).
•Rename (and edit) config-example.inc.php to config.inc.php.

You can periodically run this script from crontab. Crontab entry example:
0,30 * * * * /home/nonoo/bm-rpt2aprs/bm-rpt2aprs.php &>/dev/null


Skipping APRS reporting

A sysop of a repeater or a hotspot can prevent APRS reporting by adding the tag
NOGATE or NOAPRS to the 'Priority Message' field at the BrandMeister dashboard.

Multiple SSIDs

The SSID of an APRS object is parsed from the repeater ID if the ID length is exactly nine numbers.

For example a hotspot using ID 244301810 (DMR ID 2443018, SSID 10) is reported to the APRS-IS as OH3NFC-10.

K2IE
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:24 pm

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by K2IE » Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:26 pm

Under expert config, ircddbgateway, look for:

aprsEnabled

If set to 1, change it to 0.

VA7TF
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:09 pm

Re: Disable Sending APRS Information

Post by VA7TF » Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:16 pm

I too, have tried setting the APRS beacon to 0 but shortly after, the software sets it back to 1. So, because i don't approve of the WHOLE WORLD knowing where I am, I entered bogus coordinates. I am at 8000 ft above sea level in the Pacific ocean.

Post Reply