YSF2DMR Broken ???

Help with YSF / Fusion issues
G8OGJ
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Location: Matlock
Contact:

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by G8OGJ » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:15 pm

Right, I have determined that my home Mikrotik router IS supplying DNS but supplies its own address as dns sever - which most other devices including the multiple Raspberry Pis that I run can use. BUT I have now added the four open-dns server addresses to the DNS server list (so now there are five - the router (which itself links to open-dns) AND the open-dns addresses.

NOW I can ping github.com! Needless to say after a reboot the ysf is still unlinked.

I will now perform an update and see what gives...

Thanks for the help so far!

Ian
Amateur Radio Station G8OGJ

VE3RD
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by VE3RD » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:24 pm

My Resolv.conf File

/etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 192.168.4.1

----------------------------------------
optional nameserver 8.8.4.4

Phil VE3RD

G8OGJ
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Location: Matlock
Contact:

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by G8OGJ » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:30 pm

Further to my last, ysf still remains not linked:-(

What I have is:

YSF and YSF Net - both green.

YSF Network - not linked

YSF2DMR - Brandmeister United Kingdom

P25 Radio - linked to TG30639

NXDN - linked to TG30639

I had turned on the YSF to other network links to see whether that made any difference - it seems that I can connect to anything BUT ysf! Before the DNS change these were ALL not linked.

Ian
Amateur Radio Station G8OGJ

VE3RD
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by VE3RD » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:51 pm

Possibly the reflector you are trying to use???

I just setup ysf to reflector YSF53632 - US TGIF TGIF31665 and it came up running

Phil VE3RD

G8OGJ
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Location: Matlock
Contact:

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by G8OGJ » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:34 pm

Phil,

Fair point - I played around with several nodes including the one that you mention and nothing happened so I 'gave up'. After a break of over 30 minutes I noticed that it had connected. So I played around a little further and it is now connected to CQ UK (I suppose my preferred) but it took over 15 minutes to connect whereas D-star connects to the default node within 30s.

Any idea why it should take between 15 and 30 minutes to connect? I am now happy that there WAS a DNS problem and that is now resolved:-)

That said it IS now connecting - thanks for your help!

Ian
Amateur Radio Station G8OGJ

Post Reply