YSF2DMR Broken ???

Help with YSF / Fusion issues
G8OGJ
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Location: Matlock
Contact:

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by G8OGJ » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:15 pm

Right, I have determined that my home Mikrotik router IS supplying DNS but supplies its own address as dns sever - which most other devices including the multiple Raspberry Pis that I run can use. BUT I have now added the four open-dns server addresses to the DNS server list (so now there are five - the router (which itself links to open-dns) AND the open-dns addresses.

NOW I can ping github.com! Needless to say after a reboot the ysf is still unlinked.

I will now perform an update and see what gives...

Thanks for the help so far!

Ian
Amateur Radio Station G8OGJ

VE3RD
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by VE3RD » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:24 pm

My Resolv.conf File

/etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 192.168.4.1

----------------------------------------
optional nameserver 8.8.4.4

Phil VE3RD

G8OGJ
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Location: Matlock
Contact:

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by G8OGJ » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:30 pm

Further to my last, ysf still remains not linked:-(

What I have is:

YSF and YSF Net - both green.

YSF Network - not linked

YSF2DMR - Brandmeister United Kingdom

P25 Radio - linked to TG30639

NXDN - linked to TG30639

I had turned on the YSF to other network links to see whether that made any difference - it seems that I can connect to anything BUT ysf! Before the DNS change these were ALL not linked.

Ian
Amateur Radio Station G8OGJ

VE3RD
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by VE3RD » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:51 pm

Possibly the reflector you are trying to use???

I just setup ysf to reflector YSF53632 - US TGIF TGIF31665 and it came up running

Phil VE3RD

G8OGJ
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Location: Matlock
Contact:

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by G8OGJ » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:34 pm

Phil,

Fair point - I played around with several nodes including the one that you mention and nothing happened so I 'gave up'. After a break of over 30 minutes I noticed that it had connected. So I played around a little further and it is now connected to CQ UK (I suppose my preferred) but it took over 15 minutes to connect whereas D-star connects to the default node within 30s.

Any idea why it should take between 15 and 30 minutes to connect? I am now happy that there WAS a DNS problem and that is now resolved:-)

That said it IS now connecting - thanks for your help!

Ian
Amateur Radio Station G8OGJ

VE3RD
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by VE3RD » Wed Feb 26, 2020 6:59 pm

The initial problem appears to be fixed, I now get audio in both directions

However, taking the YSF2DMR to the next level and trying to change talk groups from the radio has an interesting twist

The following is from my log based on the FT70

M: 2020-02-26 15:44:36.820 DMR ID of VE3RD: 3023954
M: 2020-02-26 15:44:36.820 Connect to TG 31665 has been requested by VE3RD
M: 2020-02-26 15:44:36.820 Sending DMR Disconnect: Src: VE3RD Dst: TG 4000
M: 2020-02-26 15:44:48.827 Timeout changing TG

The Disconect TG 4000 shows up in the TGIF Lastheard
The TG does actually change, but the radio locks up in the En # screen with a connect failure.
If you clear the En # Screen, and go to the Lc Call screen, it works and you are now on the new TG

I created a short list TGList_BM.txt that does have 31665 in it

It appears that the YSF2DMR module times out waiting for a response to the TG Change

VE3RD
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: YSF2DMR Broken ???

Post by VE3RD » Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:11 pm

I hacked YSF2DMR as follows and it now functions just fine. It basically ignores the timeout and says all is well
I and many others would appreciate a REAL fix to this problem.

// if ((TG_connect_state != NONE) && (TGChange.elapsed() > 12000)) {
if ((TG_connect_state != NONE) && (TGChange.elapsed() > 4000)) {
LogMessage("Timeout changing TG");
// TG_connect_state = NONE;
TG_connect_state = SEND_REPLY;
}

Post Reply