WiresX Passthrough operational questions...

Help with YSF / Fusion issues
w9mt

WiresX Passthrough operational questions...

Post by w9mt »

I apologize if these are dumb questions, but I am new to WiresX Passthrough mode on Pi-Star's Fusion functionality...

I can connect on my MMDVM with my FT-70DR using Fcn-AMS. I see the mode switch from "R W9MT" to "N W9MT" indicating I am in "net mode" and see the YSF Net indicator go from red to green. Then I can switch FCS reflectors using the En *nnnnn command. All of this works fine and I am enthusiastically pleased with it.

Question 1: "Can I / How do I" do this with YSF reflectors?

Question 2: When I'm done, how do I unlink the MMDVM with my FT-70DR? A long press on the 70's MODE key gets the radio out of WiresX mode, but the MMDVM looks like it still stays in net mode until lack of activity times it out.

Question 3: Is there a tutorial anywhere about how to "run WiresX Passthrough" mode? I'd sure like to know if it goes beyond FCS/YSF reflectors and could connect to a friend's WiresX node or room.

I'm willing to teach myself if I can be pointed in the right direction. Thank you.
M1DNS
Pi-Star Team

Re: WiresX Passthrough operational questions...

Post by M1DNS »

There's no way to link directly to a wires x room. Yaesu run a closed network that doesn't permit direct access to anything except their own hardware solutions. You'll need to have your friend create an rf bridge via an FCS YSF to his room, then you can connect to him through that.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.
NQ4T

Post by NQ4T »

w9mt wrote: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:10 am Is there a tutorial anywhere about how to "run WiresX Passthrough" mode?
Like stated; WIRES-X is a proprietary closed system. You can only access a WIRES-X room on a YSFReflector if the operator of the reflector has the equipment to provide a bridge.