Pi 0 board not initialized

Help setting up WiFi
AF6VN
Posts: 821
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: Pi 0 board not initialized

Post by AF6VN »

KE0DVW wrote: Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:07 am Let's start fresh. I hard wired my RPi 3b to my lan, and I was able to configure everything except Wifi. I can see my Wifi network in the configuration screen, and I try to add my network, but it doesn't appear to connect to the Wifi network.
In my experience -- somewhat limited -- if there is a wired ethernet connection, the WiFi will not be used. It confused me for some time when I set up my DVMega/R-Pi 3B -- I had a wired connection, kept adding the WiFi information in the control panel (even tried with my cell phone set to access point mode) and never got it to show up on WiFi. Finally, for some reason, I pulled the wired connection and rebooted -- and it's been happy ever since on WiFi. This is, true, different from the behavior of my other 3B running as a web server (with Raspbian Stretch) where both wired and WiFi come up; I had to manually take the latter down as I wanted only ethernet for that.

Addendum: the PI Zero W antenna is a triangle etched into the circuit board https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/pi-ze ... na-design/ (and it looks like the 3B+ has a similar design off to the left of the chip with Raspberry logo, as does the 4B)
I have swapped the antenna without without any change. The Jumbo spot knows when I press the transmitter button, but it assigns a network IP address of 192.168.50.1, which is not available on my network. Assignable IP address range is 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.50. When I press the talk button on the radio, the pistar displays, on the OLED, the correct information except IP address, and doesn't send out anything?
What antenna? The antenna on the JumboSpot board is for (most likely 70cm, though could be 2m) Amateur transmissions. Unless you've soldered something to the underside of the R-Pi 3B, the WiFi antenna is that silver brick on the edge of the board https://makezine.com/2016/02/28/meet-th ... erry-pi-3/

To my knowledge the radio board mounted on an R-Pi does not have an IP address, and doesn't care about IP data. It just translates between digital RF and binary packets passed to the R-Pi. The R-Pi only is responsible for IP traffic.

192.168.50.1 is the Pi-Star "Auto AP" address (associated with "pi-star-setup" access point). That implies that whatever you have configured is NOT valid, the unit is timing out trying to connect to it, and reverts to access point mode to allow you, on a computer, to connect to it (if your computer is using WiFi to the router, you have to disconnect that and connect to the access point -- which means no internet -- for configuration).

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber
AF6VN
Posts: 821
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: Pi 0 board not initialized

Post by AF6VN »

Just some add-on comments, probably covered by prior posts...

As long as you have an Ethernet cable attached, what does "ifconfig" report (note: the following is my R-Pi server machine, not the Pi-Star node).

Code: Select all

md_admin@microdiversity:~$ ifconfig
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.252  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::8431:97f5:fc01:6055  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether b8:27:eb:ce:b1:eb  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 568131  bytes 53131026 (50.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 105  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 28132  bytes 9324464 (8.8 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
On that machine, I manually took down the WiFi. Bringing up WiFi resulted in (note that it took a few seconds for the IPv4 address to get assigned).

Code: Select all

md_admin@microdiversity:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
md_admin@microdiversity:~$ sudo ifconfig
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.252  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::8431:97f5:fc01:6055  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether b8:27:eb:ce:b1:eb  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 567770  bytes 53110835 (50.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 105  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 28057  bytes 9312330 (8.8 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet6 fe80::3d13:8e31:8ff7:f75f  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether b8:27:eb:9b:e4:be  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 9646  bytes 788703 (770.2 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 100  bytes 13074 (12.7 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

md_admin@microdiversity:~$ sudo ifconfig
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.252  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::8431:97f5:fc01:6055  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether b8:27:eb:ce:b1:eb  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 567806  bytes 53114131 (50.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 105  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 28069  bytes 9315106 (8.8 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.253  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::3d13:8e31:8ff7:f75f  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether b8:27:eb:9b:e4:be  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 9649  bytes 789231 (770.7 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 114  bytes 15348 (14.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
If ifconfig shows wlan0 is up, try taking it down (sudo ifconfig wlan0 down) before...
"sudo ifconfig wlan0 up"
and watching for any error messages. If no messages, redo the plain "ifconfig" and see what it shows for wlan0 this time. Might also want to see what "dmesg" reports after bringing the link up... my server box shows

Code: Select all

[582603.841640] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[582603.841656] brcmfmac: power management disabled
[582604.962488] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready


And then there is the matter of what is in the wpa_supplicant configuration (I've obscured the actual SSID and passcode -- the only "special character" in mine is an = (and this IS from my Pi-Star node, not the server R-Pi)

Code: Select all

pi-star@pi-star-3b(ro):~$ cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
country=US

network={
        ssid="obscured"
        psk="obscured"
        id_str="1"
        priority=99
}

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber
AF6VN
Posts: 821
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: Pi 0 board not initialized

Post by AF6VN »

KE7FNS wrote: Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:32 pm He never mentioned which version he was running, but from his hotspot page on brandmeister it shows him as running 4.1.
The OP has apparently tried various versions (if this works: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=2158&start=10#p10544 )



I'd also like to apologize to the masses for the quantity of stuff I've been putting into my posts -- essentially I'm following/posting the steps that I would be taking to debug the matter.

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber
KE0DVW
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: Pi 0 board not initialized

Post by KE0DVW »

I will connect the RPi 3b after I resolve the protective case. I will be able to provide the information you requested.

I replicated the working SD card on several SD cards. They all worked regardless of the SD card maker.

In the beginning of my problems, I have a RPi 0 W with a working SD card. I put the working SD card into the RPi 3b with a 3.2 inch Nextion display, and everything worked great. Then I put the working SD card back into the RPi 0 W. Everything works fine except the OLED display. Is there a setting in configuration or expert that I can change to turn on the OLED?

I can use Administration in pi-star, and I can see the Jumbo spot is working fine. I am able to communicate on the channels I have programmed into the code plug.

Thank you,
Steve
KE0DVW
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: Pi 0 board not initialized

Post by KE0DVW »

You are 100% correct. I didn't notice that the setting had been changed. Thank you for your help and patience. Steve KE0DVW
Post Reply