Change Rooms on a Schedule

Help with YSF / Fusion issues
Post Reply
WX0MIK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:14 am

Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by WX0MIK »

I have been doing a bit of looking but not finding anything. Is there a way to script pi-star so it will automatically change rooms based on a schedule? For instance, I want my pi-star to link to the local net on Sunday nights then go back my normal room after the net is over. Is there a way to do that?
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1505
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by MW0MWZ »

The old answer would be to write a script to modify the startup destination on the YSFGateway config file, and restart the service... not really very nice, this is like having to park your car to change radio station...

But now there is some remote control features built into YSFGateway, so yes you can script it :)
I'll write a cli tool for this shortly that will take the effort out of it, you can then call that with cron, thats all there will be to it :)
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
WX0MIK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by WX0MIK »

Thanks! That would be awesome! I did figure out a way, but like you said it's editing the config file and restarting the ysf service. A simple command would make this so much easier.
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1505
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by MW0MWZ »

Wish granted.... at least on Pi-Star v4.x

Code: Select all

pi-star@pi-star-ysf(ro):~$ sudo pistar-ysflink 
To unlink from any connected reflector, use: pistar-ysflink unlink
To link to YSF31672, use: pistar-ysflink ysf31672
To link to FCS002-90, use: pistar-ysflink fcs00290
Does what it says on the tin, and does so without restarting the service.
It also has some friends that came along with it :)

Code: Select all

pi-star@pi-star-ysf(ro):~$ sudo pistar-p25link 
To unlink from any connected TG, use: pistar-p25link unlink
To link to TG31672, use: pistar-p25link 31672

pi-star@pi-star-ysf(ro):~$ sudo pistar-nxdnlink 
To unlink from any connected TG, use: pistar-nxdnlink unlink
To link to TG31672, use: pistar-nxdnlink 31672
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1505
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by MW0MWZ »

Oh and I should add, these change the connected YSF/P25/NDXN reflector without restarting the service - even if there is a QSO happening, it swaps the link on the spot :)
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
WX0MIK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by WX0MIK »

Do I need to update to a certain version? When trying I get the message "Remote Commands not enabled..."
Last edited by WX0MIK on Wed May 06, 2020 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
M1DNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by M1DNS »

All the developement is ongoing in the current 4.1 / 4.1.1 releases.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.
WX0MIK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by WX0MIK »

I'm on 4.1.1, I get the following message "Remote Commands not enabled..." Is there a setting I need to change or am I not at the right version yet.
User avatar
MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1505
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by MW0MWZ »

WX0MIK wrote: Wed May 06, 2020 3:20 pm I'm on 4.1.1, I get the following message "Remote Commands not enabled..." Is there a setting I need to change or am I not at the right version yet.
see the announcement here: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2689

In short, update, head to the config page and press apply, you dont need to actually change anything at all, just applying the config will add in the extra config lines and you should be good to go :)
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk
WX0MIK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Change Rooms on a Schedule

Post by WX0MIK »

Thanks! It's working now.
Post Reply