Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post Reply
g0lgj
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 am

Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post by g0lgj »

Hi running a Icom stack with Raspberry Pi 2 having trouble decoding AMBE stations , I can listen on my own hotspot DVRPT1 and also another repeater running a Pi-star and STM-32 Repeater Controller Kenwood TK-7180 mobiles both which decode fine.

All other stations decode fine. ID-5100 is showing L when AMBE station is transmitting.

Dont think it a peformance issue but has to be something on my stack ?

pi-star is up todate and was doing this before any upgrades etc.

Mark G0LGJ
AF6VN
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post by AF6VN »

To my understanding, Pi-Star and the RF boards used on them do not do any AMBE CODEC operations, they just pass encoded digital data between the network and the RF modules. AMBE encode/decode is typically done on the radio accessing the system.

HT/other/with CODEC <digitized/encoded FM modulation> hotspot/repeater <demodulated digital> Network...

Just my way of pointing out that I'm not sure what equipment is where in your setup, and what it is meant to provide at that location in the stream

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber
M1DNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post by M1DNS »

L in the eighth position is used to link. As set in the UR field.

ie xlxoooAL

Link to: xlx000 module A.

Is that what ur seeing?

If not ive never seen anything transmitting, identifying L
It might be a callsign misconfiguration in the user radio.

Otherwise might need a bit more info, in trying to understand the question ur posting. ??

Sent via smoke signals from my SM-G935F M1DNS (Admin)

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.
g0lgj
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 am

Re: Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post by g0lgj »

Hi
I am the repeater keeper for GB7NB it is a Icom Stack RP4000v and Icom ID-RP2c with pi-star running Raspberry Pi 2 Model B Rev 1.1 version 4.1.6

Working fine unless a remote station say via REF001C comes in using AMBE and the Audio is broken garbled.

I can listed to the same station via another repeater / Node / hotspot and Audio is fine. Using the same Radio. Tried a different radi on 7NB and same
No comments in QSO re the Audio so I am sure it is something on GB7NB

The L displayed in the ID-5100 is showing packet loss While receiving data through the Internet, some packets may be lost due to a network error

This is only ever shown on AMBE stations.

Can connect to DCS Dplus etc and no issues.
Mark G0LGJ
M1DNS
Pi-Star Team
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post by M1DNS »

Yep. The little L shown in the display. Yeah thats loss coming over the net. Agreed.

When you say ambe do you mean /ambe showing in the callsign?

I've an idea they might be using software running on a mobile phone.
Have a google search re: Droidstar.

Sent via smoke signals from my SM-G935F M1DNS (Admin)

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.
g0lgj
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 am

Re: Icom RP2c / Ambe decoding

Post by g0lgj »

Hi again , yes showing AMBE in ID field. Such as min is G0LGJ /5100

Yes heard of droidstar but it does not explain why it only happends on one of the repeaters

Mark
Post Reply