FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Help with YSF / Fusion issues
Post Reply
KN4QFV
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:46 pm
Location: Now K4JDA

FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by KN4QFV » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:48 pm

My FT-70DR apparently cannot display lower case letters. The text of the YSF rooms only shows the upper case letters and blanks where the lower case letters would be - I.e. America-Link shows as “A -L “

I converted the YSFHosts file to all upper case and the names then show correctly. Of course the file gets overwritten on the next update.

Any thoughts?
Troy Davis- Now K4JDA
Kennesaw, GA

KD0YD
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by KD0YD » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:59 pm

Troy:

Thanks, you solved the mystery of missing characters on my FT-70DR returned by Pi-Star. In the Yaesu programming software ADMS-10 in the name field it makes everything caps, I haven't seen lower case on my FT-70DR but my FT-2DR does display lower case. Only 2 options I can think of is to either create a script that will capitalize the host file reflector names, most likely to be run manually when needed or request a Pi-Star feature by where there is a parameter to capitalize the names of reflectors from the host for users of the FT-70DR. 0=off/1=on so users with radios that get lower case still can.

Jeffrey
KD0YD

KN4QFV
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:46 pm
Location: Now K4JDA

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by KN4QFV » Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:36 pm

An option in pistar would be very helpful
Troy Davis- Now K4JDA
Kennesaw, GA

MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by MW0MWZ » Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:47 pm

Do you have the same issue(s) with FCS rooms too ?
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk

MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by MW0MWZ » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:26 pm

Config page has an "UPPERCASE Hostfiles" option now, if you have an FT-70D, set that, apply the config, update (from this point on YSF/FCS host files are converted to uppercase on the fly during the update process), now re-select your startup room and your FT-70D radio should be happy.
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk

KD0YD
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by KD0YD » Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:44 pm

Andy

Thanks for the upper case feature that allows the 70DR to display the description of the YSF reflectors. It appears to work just fine. FCS reflectors have never displayed the description. After connecting it will display "FCS/INFO" then continuously scrolls the the FCS number on the screen example "FCS00240". Only displays 6 characters wide which is the reason for the scroll. The YSF reflectors do not display and scroll the YSF number only the description. Example if I connect to YSF64230, it will display and scroll "AMERICA-RC". That's what I am seeing.

Jeffrey
KD0YD

KN4QFV
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:46 pm
Location: Now K4JDA

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by KN4QFV » Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:54 am

THANK YOU!

Works great.... anxiously awaiting 4.0!
Troy Davis- Now K4JDA
Kennesaw, GA

User avatar
VK7HSE
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by VK7HSE » Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:37 am

MW0MWZ wrote:Config page has an "UPPERCASE Hostfiles" option now, if you have an FT-70D, set that, apply the config, update (from this point on YSF/FCS host files are converted to uppercase on the fly during the update process), now re-select your startup room and your FT-70D radio should be happy.
Awesome! I had noticed this issue on my own YSF Reflector! And was trying to sort it out! Don't have to now Image

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


MW0MWZ
Site Admin
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: FT-70DR can only display upper case?

Post by MW0MWZ » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:50 pm

Better implementation by Jonathan (G4KLX) now in YSFGateway, see here:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1364

Essentially we implement it the same way, just make sure you have uppercase host files enabled :)
Andy

73 de MW0MWZ
http://pistar.uk

Post Reply