Brandmeister Auto Static

Help with DMR issues
KC3MLA
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:49 pm

Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by KC3MLA » Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

I've been hearing/reading about "auto static" in Brandmeister. Does this only apply to simplex hotspots?
Mark

AF6VN
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by AF6VN » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:19 pm

It's a feature of the BrandMeister servers -- and hence pretty much independent of hotspot. The most recently activated dynamic talk group is treated as a "static".

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber

KC3MLA
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:49 pm

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by KC3MLA » Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:39 pm

When I ran a simplex hotspot, it did as you describe. When I switched over to a duplex it quit doing it - would treat as dynamic an time out.
Mark

VK3KYY
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:31 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by VK3KYY » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:49 pm

On my duplex hotspot the auto static seems to time out fairly quickly

This may be a setting on the server I'm connecting to, or potentially an issue with it being a duplex hotspot.
I've never worked out why this is now happening.

M1DNS
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by M1DNS » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:29 pm

VK3KYY wrote:On my duplex hotspot the auto static seems to time out fairly quickly

This may be a setting on the server I'm connecting to, or potentially an issue with it being a duplex hotspot.
I've never worked out why this is now happening.
Yeah, duplex boards are treated the same as a repeater. TG's will time out after a preset. Unless you set it with an actual static.

Andrew M1DNS, (Mod)

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.

VK3KYY
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:31 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:46 am

Thanks

That explains things.

VK4TUX
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:50 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by VK4TUX » Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:14 am

Ok, I have added you as sysop, Login to BM dashboard and it will be in your 'my repeaters' list to setup static TG's or reflectors as you see fit
Last edited by VK4TUX on Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VK3KYY
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:31 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:53 pm

Adrian

Thanks, I'll take a look later.

BTW.
I use a hardware switch to change networks, and most of the time the switch is in the DMR+ position, so I'm not connected to BM at the moment.

I have multiple duplex hotspots, so I should really program one exclusively for BM, but I never seem to get around to it.

VK4TUX
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:50 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by VK4TUX » Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:27 am

Roger ok on that. Actually our qso on marc 505 was my last there.
Last edited by VK4TUX on Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VK3KYY
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:31 am

Re: Brandmeister Auto Static

Post by VK3KYY » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:36 am

VK4TUX wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:27 am
Roger ok on that. Actually our qso on marc 505 was my last there. VK3TE banned me there since then.
I think he did not like anyone representing BM being there.
Yikes

Banned you. That seems a bit draconian

Post Reply