New Hotspot

General support for the Pi-Star System
Post Reply
WB4SJN
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:05 pm

New Hotspot

Post by WB4SJN » Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:57 am

I finally got my new home brew hotspot put together and hooked up. I got into setup and was doing all the configuring and when I got down to setting up Wifi I chose the correct wifi and entered the information, then clicked "Save and connect" and waited a good long time then I clicked "Apply changes and when everything reset I went down to the "Wireless information" area and the wifi was not there. So, I clicked on"Reset WIfi adapter" and the section went blank and it kicked me out of the setup. And now I can't get back to setup to try to get my wifi configured. any help will be greatly appreciated. 73.

oz1cbk
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:59 am

Re: New Hotspot

Post by oz1cbk » Mon Nov 11, 2019 6:45 am

You can try this.
Close your hotspot and remove the power.
Take the SD cart to your computer.
Go to this site and make the file.
https://www.pistar.uk/wifi_builder.php
Then save the file on your computer for later use.
Copy the file to the root of the SD card
Remove the SD Card on the safe way.
Insert the SD Card in your hotspot and power on.
I do that when it will nok work.

IF you have made a config backup, you can copy the .zip file with the backup to the root of the SD Card, and most of your settings will be done :-)

I hope I not missed something. Good luck.

Ole - OZ1CBK

M1DNS
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: New Hotspot

Post by M1DNS » Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:16 am

https://youtu.be/Z5svLP8nEyw

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.

AF6VN
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:15 am

Re: New Hotspot

Post by AF6VN » Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:39 pm

WB4SJN wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:57 am
I finally got my new home brew hotspot put together and hooked up. I got into setup and was doing all the configuring and when I got down to setting up
HOW did you "got into setup"? Using a hardwired ethernet cable, or using the AutoAP (where the R-Pi becomes an access point using an SSID similar to pistar-setup).
Wifi I chose the correct wifi and entered the information, then clicked "Save and connect" and waited a good long time then I clicked "Apply changes and when everything reset I went down to the "Wireless information" area and the wifi was not there.
Experience has been that if you have an Ethernet cable connection, the WiFi is not used at all.

If you were using the AutoAP, your router connection tends not to go active until a reboot of the R-Pi. And once it does go active, you can not use the "pistar-setup" SSID to connect (it won't be there) -- instead you have to use pistar or pistar.local has the host name in a browser (presumes you did not change the hostname field) going through your regular router.
So, I clicked on"Reset WIfi adapter" and the section went blank and it kicked me out of the setup. And now I can't get back to setup to try to get my wifi configured. any help will be greatly appreciated. 73.
Have you checked your router WiFi client list to see if the pistar node shows up? (from my u-Verse router)

Code: Select all


IP Allocation
IPv4 Address / Name 	MAC Address 	Status 	Allocation 	Action
192.168.1.68 / EPSONF4EF32 	00:26:ab:f4:ef:32 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.65 / DIRECTV-HR54-C94828D7 	18:16:c9:48:28:d9 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.72 / android-f2715b5ffc0fee68 	58:b0:d4:3b:09:ee 	off 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.74 / unknown64c6670531d3 	64:c6:67:05:31:d3 	off 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.70 / Galaxy-S9 	8c:45:00:6d:1a:4c 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.79 / pi-star-3b 	b8:27:eb:4b:0b:d5 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.253 / microdiversity 	b8:27:eb:9b:e4:be 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.76 / rpi3bplus-1 	b8:27:eb:ae:8d:65 	off 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.252 / microdiversity 	b8:27:eb:ce:b1:eb 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.66 / ElusiveUnicorn 	b8:ca:3a:79:0c:36 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
192.168.1.84 / HP7C548D 	c4:65:16:7c:54:8d 	on 	DHCP Allocation 	
{Hmmm, microdiversity has been rebooted -- and brought up the WiFi connection... Time to "wlan0 down" on that server since the CAT-5 is slightly faster}

--
AF6VN
Dennis L Bieber

WB4SJN
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:05 pm

Re: New Hotspot

Post by WB4SJN » Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:49 pm

Thanks for all the posts. I finally got it working as designed. My problem was that the IP address changed at some point and I could not find the new one. I got a lot of posts on that one. The thing that made it was an app called Fling. It showed me the IP address for each component connected to my Wifi. I want to thank each person who posted for me. Happy Veterans Day to all Veterans.

Post Reply