Brandmeister Dual-Hat Issue - Duplex Fails / Simplex Works

Help with DMR issues
W8NIN

Brandmeister Dual-Hat Issue - Duplex Fails / Simplex Works

Post by W8NIN »

Howdy Gents,

So I’m having a specific Brandmeister problem with my dual-hat MMDVM when using 2 frequencies for RX/TX in duplex mode. I do not have this problem on the TGIF network so it is specifically a Brandmiester issue. I have tried to solve this issue with the Brandmeister Telegram USA group and I was told:

1. It’s your Pi-Star configuration (and no assistance on how this can be corrected)
2. It’s your codeplug (ditto above)
3. It’s DMRGateway (It’s not, the BM admins have no experience with DMRGateway [they admitted], and ditto above)
4. We told you the problem you’re just too stupid to fix it yourself (you can look thru the Telegram conversations yourself. I’m a degreed Mechanical Engineer. So yes, I can fix it with a hammer, but that’s not the path I’m choosing to follow here. :D )

That being said, when I have my dual hat set up for duplex operation, apparently this configuration is incompatible with Brandmeister, as they told me that:

“Your problem is that your hotspot tells BM it is operating as simplex hotspot, but it gives different rx/tx which is normally for duplex. Unlike other dmr networks, bm checks on this and refuses the connection.” -0liver on Telegram

So….is there a way to use my dual-hat in dual-frequency mode without using a 6-digit repeater DMR ID? I do not think I will go that path [as a 6-digit DMR ID Repeater] as there are very limited 6-digit repeater DMR ID’s to go around. I am currently using the dual-hat modem in simplex mode and it works wonderfully in this capacity. But I eventually want to use TS1 + TS2….I gotta get to making the dual-hat work in duplex mode to use both time slots, yes?

Hopefully this hasn’t been covered in a previous post. If so please post the link and I’ll be on my way. Thanks in advance. If you need additional information, please let me know.