Cannot Connect to Dashboard

General support for the Pi-Star System
KE8CLD

Cannot Connect to Dashboard

Post by KE8CLD »

I'm new to this so I must put out this disclaimer. If it appears I don't know what I'm talking about, I probably don't. So I have a Nex Gen hotspot. It was set up prior to my receiving it about 3 years ago and worked perfectly. I have since changed internet providers and have flashed with the new information and was able to get it set up correctly at the command prompt. However, when I type in pi-star.local I am always sent to a search engine referring me to Pi-Star website. When I put in the Pi-star IP address I get a page telling me "This site cannot be reached." How can I get to the dashboard to set it up to use with my Yeasu FT2D? I have logged into my router and the Pi-Star is there. I have no idea how to get this to work. Would appreciate any help I can get. Please be patient as I am not computer literate. Thanks.
Rodger
Last edited by KE8CLD on Thu Apr 28, 2022 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AF6VN

Re: Cannot Connect to Dashboard

Post by AF6VN »

First step, in my mind, would be to use a CAT-5 (or higher) cable -- if possible (some systems don't have the RJ45 Ethernet jack) -- between the hot spot and your router (and I can't really look up what your have... "NEX-GEN" produces something like six different models). That is -- try to eliminate the WiFi linkage(s) in the system.

Second, log into the ROUTER and confirm IP assignment to the hotspot device, and then try connecting using that IP. I don't really understand what you mean by "WiFi account" -- WiFi access points have an SSID and a passcode... but that just allows clients to send traffic through the access point, it isn't used for getting to configuration/set-up services.