OLED programming

All things relating to OLED Screen(s)
kf5yme

OLED programming

Post by kf5yme »

Hello,

I'd like to poke around at the code for the OLED. (I'd like to have the display print more information while it is Idle instead of just the scrolling "Idle" or "MMDVM" text.)

Where can I learn more about how this piece of the project works and download the code for it?

73's
Wendel
KF5YME
EA3BIL

Re: OLED programming

Post by EA3BIL »

Hi,

MMDVM is NOT a text (althoug we humans do read it) but an bitmap IMAGE.

Several months ago, I managed to have it changed by manually editing the .img file on the proper bytes and I made it show my callsign...
Anyway doing it's a headache.

I hope you'll be more lucky than me on this task.
73'Rafael.
EA3BIL
JN11an
NA7RF

Post by NA7RF »

I know this is an old thread but I am new to Pi Star and thought I would see if anyone can reply.

Could someone share the steps they used to send messages/images to the OLED display? I have been all over the microSD card and can't seem to find how to do it without installing other packages. I am shy about installing other packages because the Pi Star works great on the less powerful Pi Zero.

It seems there should be an easy way to seen something to the screen, after all I see information about stations and I see "CLOSED" when the services are shutdown. One thing I am worried about is burn-in because OLED displays only have so much life. I would like to clear the CLOSED message when the Pi Star is shutdown -- mainly because my Pi Star is located in another part of my house and if I get distracted before powering it off after shutting down, the CLOSED message will remain on the screen.

Thanks for everyone's hard work in making such a great product!

Matt
NA7RF

Post by NA7RF »

Thank you.
AD4GC

Post by AD4GC »

EA3BIL wrote: Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:09 am I managed to have it changed by manually editing the .img file on the proper bytes and I made it show my callsign...
EA3BIL,