Page 2 of 3

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 2:26 pm
by M1DNS

VK3HAW wrote:
My understanding is that once you do "Full Edit" in expert, then if you make any changes under the "Config" Tab, then the full edit changes may be overwritten. I cannot confirm this.

Cheers
Stephen VK3HAW
Correct, once you start making changes within the expert pages, stay with using the expert pages.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 5:06 am
by VK2FMET
Hey Stephen,
This works like a dream. Thanks for all the hard work. This is just how I wanted to be working
Alan

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 6:02 am
by VK3HAW
No worries Alan, I am glad I have been some help.

It is also good to get the parrots and the announcements working on each of the networks. I am getting there slowly.

Stephen

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 3:19 am
by VK2FMET
Stephen,
I don't suppose you know why this setup stops the [info] being reported correctly on the VKHOTSPOT dashboard?
Dashobard INFO.PNG
Dashobard INFO.PNG (9.03 KiB) Viewed 571 times
Alan

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 3:22 am
by VK2FMET
I put a
Location=Fingal Bay, QF67bg
line in the DMR section and it has re-appeared - not sure if that's what was holding it back

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 4:52 am
by VK3HAW
Seems like you worked it out ok. There seems to be 2 places this can be entered, in the "Configuration" page, General Configuration section. This info must be written to "Configuration/Expert/DMR GW" in the [Info] section. If you edit in the Configuration page it will probably disable TGIF in the Expert page DMR GW (Enabled =0, and you will have to change it back to Enabled =1)

You could also change the "Options" in the Expert [DMR Network 2] section to suit yourself:
Name=DMR+_IPSC2-VKHOTSPOT
Options="TS1_1=3809;TS1_2=40008;TS2_1=505;"

eg:
Options="TS1_1=5;TS1_2=3809;TS2_1=505;TS2_2=3802;"

Stephen

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:00 am
by VK2FMET
Stephen,
Lately I see a lot of loss on 1000505 compared with TG91
Is there anything in the dmrGateway I need to address to improve this?
Dashboard Loss.PNG
Dashboard Loss.PNG (23.49 KiB) Viewed 551 times
Alan

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:45 pm
by VK3HAW
Hi Alan
Very short transmissions from DMR+ network seems to give a high packet loss. The longer the transmission the more accurate the packet loss that is reported (0.8 sec gives 42% packet loss).

BM seems to drop those initial lost packets.

There may be a setting somewhere, but I don't know how to fix it.

Stephen

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 8:56 pm
by M1DNS
Try increasing the jitter buffer value by a couple hundred. Found On the DMR network section of mmdvmhost from the expert pages.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk




Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:14 pm
by VK2FMET
Thanks - both answers make sense.
I've increased jitter to 560 and I get 0% loss
But on the other hand - knowing that it makes no real difference is good. I don't need anything from the people keying up
Alan