DMR Gateway dropping out

Help with DMR issues
VK2MPJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:48 pm

DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK2MPJ » Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:40 am

Hi all,
I did try to search the forum before posting, but apparently DMR Gateway is too common of a search term so no bueno...

I decided to try play with DMR Gateway today, with the intent to run BM, DMR+ and XLX. I read as much docco as I could find and watched W1MSG videos.
I configured it all and everything appears to be set correctly, but it doesn't want to play nice. I do not get any voice confirmations from the Pi-Star, DMR+ and BM seem to connect but I am not getting through. XLX connects, and it seems to work as I can see myself on the XLX reflector dashboard and it seems to change modules on demand, but I get no confirmation at my end. I am also hearing the traffic from the XLX reflector.

Here's the real kicker, I notice the DMR tile goes red intermittently and DMR Gateway seems to stop, then restart. I have run the log and it concurs, I have attached the log so you can see (drop box link).
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c0dtl7oaj5n11 ... m.png?dl=0

I have tried changing masters, disabling modes etc all with no change in behaviour.
If I switch back to straight DMR+ or BM it works perfectly

Any ideas?

Rasp Pi B3
STM 32 Board from Repeater Builder
BM MASTER: BM_Australia_5051
DMR+ MASTER: DMR+IPSC2=VKHOTSPOT
XLX MASTER: XLX505

Thanks in advance

de Pete VK2MPJ

VK3HAW
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:31 am

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK3HAW » Sat Feb 01, 2020 5:32 pm

Hi Pete,

I eventually got DMR Gateway working very well. First step, I only enabled one network, the Brandmeister network, and got that working.

Then I learnt the rewrite rules:
https://github.com/g4klx/DMRGateway/wiki/Rewrite-Rules

This thread has some info that may be helpful:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2287

Then enable additional networks one at a time and get them working correctly, you may need to rename your TG's in your code plug and include/amend the rewrite rules in Config/Expert/Full Edit/DMR Gateway, as you go. I hope this helps
Cheers

Stephen VK3HAW

EA3BIL
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:45 pm

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by EA3BIL » Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:10 pm

DMRPlus (TS2 on my Dual HotSpot) has stopped working correctly.

I noticed I was disconnected while helping a colleague to configure his own HotSpot...

As some other times, I went to CONFIG page and clicked "Apply" with no changes on the values, but...
This time I was NOT connected to the reflector.

The config page shows as this:
Options=StartRef=4714,RelinkTime=10

I had to place PC to the reflector to get connected and.... I got kicked out about 10 minuts after last PTT to TG8.

Here you have my DMRGateway:

[DMR Network 1]
Enabled=1
Address=84.232.5.113
Port=62031
TGRewrite0=2,9,2,9,1
PCRewrite0=2,94000,2,4000,1001
TypeRewrite0=2,9990,2,9990
SrcRewrite0=2,4000,2,9,1001
PassAllPC0=1
PassAllTG0=1
PassAllPC1=2
PassAllTG1=2
Password="myownpassword"
Debug=0
Id=214338102
Name=BM_Spain_2141

[DMR Network 2]
Enabled=1
Address=217.61.2.11
Port=55555
TGRewrite0=2,8,2,9,1
PCRewrite0=2,84000,2,4000,1001
Password="PASSWORD"
Debug=0
Id=214338102
Name=DMR+_IPSC2-Catalunya
Options="StartRef=4714,RelinkTime=10"

[DMR Network 3]
Enabled=1
Name=DMR2YSF_Cross-over
Id=214338102
Address=127.0.0.1
Port=62033
Local=62034
TGRewrite0=2,7000001,2,1,999998
SrcRewrite0=2,1,2,7000001,999998
PCRewrite0=2,7000001,2,1,999998
Password="PASSWORD"
Location=0
Debug=0


NOTES:
Yes, BM Spain network admins asked to have pwd activated for HS connections and obviously the one showing in here is NOT the real.
No, I had NO notifications nor advices from DMRPlus server admin to have another "password" than the default showing in here.
All the values for "rewrites" were automatically generated and as far as I see, they are ok.


Why I'm NOT getting connected to the DMR Plus reflector?
Is this MY fault?
If so,
What am I doing wrong ??


UPDATE:
When I power cycle the system I get a voice prompt from DMR Plus sever telling:
NOT CONNECTED.
And... I get 4000 from the DMRPlus network.

HS_BootUp.png
HS_BootUp.png (103.86 KiB) Viewed 1076 times


If you want to monitorice live the system, it's available at:
http://ea3bil.ddns.net:8082



Thanks for helping !!

EA3BIL
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:45 pm

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by EA3BIL » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:51 pm

I do answer to myself:

Option line is NOT correctly typed.

It is:
StartRef=4714,RelinkTime=10

It should be:
StartRef=4714;RelinkTime=10


Sorry for inconvenience...

VK2MPJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK2MPJ » Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:53 am

EA3BIL wrote:
Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:51 pm
I do answer to myself:

Option line is NOT correctly typed.

It is:
StartRef=4714,RelinkTime=10

It should be:
StartRef=4714;RelinkTime=10


Sorry for inconvenience...
IT is okay, at least yours is working. I am getting nothing, not even the voice announcement of "not connected"

One think I not in your configs is the TGRewrite options, they are not present in mine. I know I have seen them there in the past, were they removed in an update?

VK2MPJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK2MPJ » Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:00 am

VK3HAW wrote:
Sat Feb 01, 2020 5:32 pm
Hi Pete,

I eventually got DMR Gateway working very well. First step, I only enabled one network, the Brandmeister network, and got that working.

Then I learnt the rewrite rules:
https://github.com/g4klx/DMRGateway/wiki/Rewrite-Rules

This thread has some info that may be helpful:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2287

Then enable additional networks one at a time and get them working correctly, you may need to rename your TG's in your code plug and include/amend the rewrite rules in Config/Expert/Full Edit/DMR Gateway, as you go. I hope this helps
Cheers

Stephen VK3HAW
The thing is, I have tried a single network at a time and I get the same results. I cannot for the life of me figure out why it keeps dropping out / disconnecting from the relevant master. It does this regardless of what network I enable.
When I try to transmit, the only one that seems to work in any way is the XLX system.

As for TGRewrites, the TG Rewrite lines aren't there in my config. I know I have seen them there before, but not now.

Thanks

Pete VK2MPJ

VK3HAW
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:31 am

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK3HAW » Sun Feb 02, 2020 8:46 am

Hi Pete,

Believe me that everything you are saying, I have been there. From "network watchdog has expired" in your log, to not hearing anything and then more, including endless, continual announcements from DMR+_IPSC2-VKHOTSPOT saying "not connected".

Every-time that I came to an unsolvable dead end, I re-flashed the SD card and started from a completely new rebuild.

It does work, it took me many hours and days. However on the positive side, I did learn an immense amount about DMR, Pi-Star and DMR Gateway.

Cheers,
Stephen VK3HAW

VK3HAW
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:31 am

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK3HAW » Sun Feb 02, 2020 8:59 am

VK2MPJ wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:00 am
As for TGRewrites, the TG Rewrite lines aren't there in my config. I know I have seen them there before, but not now.

Thanks

Pete VK2MPJ
Select "Expert" and then "full edit"
Attachments
expert.jpg
expert.jpg (43.56 KiB) Viewed 1053 times
full edit.jpg
full edit.jpg (19.3 KiB) Viewed 1053 times

VK2MPJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK2MPJ » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:14 am

VK3HAW wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 8:59 am
VK2MPJ wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:00 am
As for TGRewrites, the TG Rewrite lines aren't there in my config. I know I have seen them there before, but not now.

Thanks

Pete VK2MPJ
Select "Expert" and then "full edit"
Yep looked there. The place they are is under Network 3

Network 1 and Network 2 there are no TG Rewrite rules. Do I just add them?

de VK2MPJ

VK3HAW
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:31 am

Re: DMR Gateway dropping out

Post by VK3HAW » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:52 am

I think this is the lastest default:

https://github.com/g4klx/DMRGateway/blo ... ateway.ini

This is an extract from my simplex hotspot:

[XLX Network]
Startup=950
Enabled=0
File=/usr/local/etc/XLXHosts.txt
Port=62030
Password=passw0rd
ReloadTime=60
Slot=2
TG=6
Base=64000
Relink=60
Debug=0
Id=5053131
UserControl=1

[DMR Network 1]
Enabled=1
Address=103.230.158.71
Port=62031
Local=62037
TGRewrite0=2,4000,2,4000,11
TGRewrite2=2,91,2,91,4
TGRewrite3=2,9990,2,9990,1
TGRewrite4=2,5050,2,5050,9
TGRewrite5=2,9,2,9,1
TGRewrite7=2,505999,2,505999,1
TGRewrite1=2,202,2,202,546
PassAllTG=2
PassAllPC=2
Password="xxxxx"
Debug=0
Id=5053131
Name=BM_Australia_5051

[DMR Network 2]
Enabled=1
Address=103.93.139.188
Port=55555
TGRewrite=2,1000001,2,1,999999
Password=PASSWORD
Debug=0
Id=5053131
Name=DMR+_IPSC2-VKHOTSPOT
Options="TS1_1=3809;TS1_2=40008;TS2_1=505;"

[DMR Network 3]
Enabled=1
Name=TGIF_Network
Id=5053131
TGRewrite0=2,2000001,2,1,999998
SrcRewrite0=
Address=tgif.network
Password=passw0rd
Port=62031
Local=62033
Location=0
Debug=0

XLX is not enabled, BM, DMR+ and TGIF enabled. BM network was from development and I have not refined it. Others here have more knowledge than me and may be able to offer more help.

My understanding is that once you do "Full Edit" in expert, then if you make any changes under the "Config" Tab, then the full edit changes may be overwritten. I cannot confirm this.

Cheers
Stephen VK3HAW

Post Reply