RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

General support for the Pi-Star System
VK5BB
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:31 am

RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by VK5BB » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:35 am

Hi,

I have been playing with the Pi-Star based hot spots for a couple of years and they have all worked very nicely.

I would like to report my experiences so that those working in the development of the software can take into account my findings.

Recently I have been playing with the RPi 3A+ and the first unit loaded with V4.1.0 RC4, a N5BOC simplex hat and 2.8" Nextion screen, works well.

I have just built another RPi 3A+, using "spares", a Chinese Jumbo hat left over when replaced with the N5BOC hat, and a 3.5" Nextion screen. This unit I loaded V4.1.0 RC7 and it to works hmmm OK?

With the Beta releases, I generally run updates frequently, no problems here.

I also set a default reflector connection (VK5RWN C) for on boot up and this has worked OK on all previous iterations of my Pi-star hot spots.

Problems I have experienced with the latest V4.1.0 RC7 on the RPi 3A+........

On boot up, takes awhile, when all up I check that the default connection has been made?
The Pi-Star Dashboard shows "Linked to VK5RWN C", and the VK5RWN Dashboard shows that I am connected as a remote user
However when I transmit via the hot spot, it does not seem to pass through to the repeater gateway and the repeater dashboard does not show my connection and activity?

If I "Unlink" and check status via "Info" ( I ), the hot spot reports "Not Linked"
I then re-initiate the link and the hot spot reports, "Linked to VK5RWN Charlie"
From then on all is good and all seems to work OK?

This happens on every cold boot and only on the V4.1.0 RC7?

I double checked with the unit running V4.1.0 RC4 and that boots up OK and links to VK5RWN C OK on boot up.

So there is some subtle differences between the linking function on boot up.

Other points that I have noticed is that the RPi 3A+ seems to run hot and when they hit 50 degrees C, they just about stall in operation.

My RPi 3B will warm up to somewhere in the upper 40's but generally doe not get to 50 degrees.

FYI

A question?

Back until late 2019, on booting up any of my hot spots, when they became active, Pi-Star verbally reported, "Linked to VK5RWN Charlie"

After I ran updates in December???? since that time, the hot spot no longer reports where it is connected on boot up, so I am not sure whether the default connection was successful?

Has this feature been removed from the system?

Have fun with your hot spots and enjoy the hobby.

73, Ben VK5BB

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by KE0FHS » Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:44 pm

Max operating temp for an RPi is 85 C. While 50 C is warm, it shouldn't be anywhere near the point where the temp causes throttling (that should occur around 80 C). My 3B+ hotspots regularly operate as high as 60 C, with no issues. One reason I like the 3A+ hotspots is that they operate cooler than the 3B+, typically 50 C max.

If your 3A+ is throttling at 50 C, it may well be defective.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

M1DNS
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:30 am

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by M1DNS » Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:06 pm

I'll go with Torsens comments above as I've moved most of my hotspots onto using 3A+ they average around 50 /52°c and doesn't affect use in any way. I've only one running DSTAR (runs on a duplex board DMR & DSTAR) but just like the others running other modes, I have no problem with temp. or performance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Andrew M1DNS.
Pi-star Admin Team.

KE7FNS
Posts: 1054
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by KE7FNS » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:08 pm

VK5BB wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:35 am
Other points that I have noticed is that the RPi 3A+ seems to run hot and when they hit 50 degrees C, they just about stall in operation.
I highly doubt you are seeing CPU throttling at that low of a temp.

What is the result of the following command?

Code: Select all

sudo vcgencmd get_throttled
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:

VK5BB
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:31 am

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by VK5BB » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:36 am

Hi and thanks for the feedback.

Re the throttling back??

Had to wait awhile for the unit to run hot and now it is, and the RPi 3A+ seems to be still working OK.

Currently it is running at 52.6 d C.

Ran the 'sudo vcgencmd get_throttled' command and received the following report;

'throttled=0x50005'

I am not sure what the means but the hot spot is working nicely connected to REF030C which is currently active with QSOs running.

My previous reporting on possible throttling back was based on while i was in SSH mode, it was very slow to respond to commands etc. On this occasion, the unit responded very timely so seems to be OK.

In the time of this email the unit has run up to 53.7 d C and seems OK?

73, Ben VK5BB

KE7FNS
Posts: 1054
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by KE7FNS » Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:19 pm

VK5BB wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:36 am
Ran the 'sudo vcgencmd get_throttled' command and received the following report;

'throttled=0x50005'

I am not sure what the means but the hot spot is working nicely connected to REF030C which is currently active with QSOs running.
Your issue seems to be power supply under-voltage causing frequency capping, or you have a faulty RPi.

To understand the results you need to convert the hex result to binary and use the following table.

Code: Select all

010100000000000000101
||||             ||||_ under-voltage
||||             |||_ currently throttled
||||             ||_ arm frequency capped
||||             |_ soft temperature reached
||||_ under-voltage has occurred since last reboot
|||_ throttling has occurred since last reboot
||_ arm frequency capped has occurred since last reboot
|_ soft temperature reached since last reboot
As you can see the kernel is reporting under-voltage and is capping the frequency. Not sure why your system is running so hot in an under-voltage situation with the frequency capped but you can confirm the undervoltage by grepping dmesg.

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep -i volt
I'd get a quality power supply, I've had a few cheap ones I picked up report under-voltage, I've had one that always seems to trigger under voltage during the first milliseconds of booting, and then recovers, but I still don't like to use it.

I'd also pick up a heat sink kit for a few bucks if you are so worried about temps, also if you are cramming the entire thing into an enclosure with no air circulation, I'd find a bigger enclosure that could support a small fan.
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by KE0FHS » Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:29 pm

Jason, I'm impressed! Thanks for continuing to provide so much expert help on the forum.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

User avatar
KE0FHS
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by KE0FHS » Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:47 pm

For comparison, I just ran sudo vcgencmd get_throttled on my 3A+ hotspot and got: 0x0
using a CanaKit USB-C 5.1V 3.5A power supply.
73, Toshen, KE0FHS
Playing with Pi-Star (unofficial notes about setting up and using Pi-Star):
https://amateurradionotes.com/pi-star.htm

KE7FNS
Posts: 1054
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by KE7FNS » Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:16 pm

KE0FHS wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:29 pm
Jason, I'm impressed! Thanks for continuing to provide so much expert help on the forum.
Thanks, I do what I can, however there'd be many more people lost without all the info you provide than the info I have.
KE0FHS wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:47 pm
For comparison, I just ran sudo vcgencmd get_throttled on my 3A+ hotspot and got: 0x0
using a CanaKit USB-C 5.1V 3.5A power supply.
Yeah, thats the result I expected to see from his. :lol:

I'm really not sure whats up with that RPi, you'd think that with it being undervolted and capped it wouldn't be able to heat up like that, it just seems like the opposite of the result I would expect. For example the only time I can get my RPi's to throttle is when I max out all cores at 100% utilization, and then it starts to heat up. MMDVMHost just doesn't tax the CPU at all, like on average ~2% utilization. So there is definitely something weird going on with his RPi, and I'm not 100% sure if a better power supply is going to solve his issue.

I'm also wondering if theres some other software that has been installed that is hogging up the CPU. I'd be interested in seeing what his CPU utilization is and what processes are eating up the CPU.

Just run this:

Code: Select all

top
If someones previous actions are any indication of their future actions, then I predict the deletion and removal of access will happen at any moment. 7-11-2020.

"07/13/20 This Website Has Been Taken Down" ... again :lol:

VK5BB
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:31 am

Re: RPi 3 A+ running V4.1.0 RC7

Post by VK5BB » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:53 am

Hi,

Many thanks for the feed back, very much appreciated. It really is a bit of a learning curve playing at this level, however with the right prompting, I can "follow the bouncing ball"!

OK, re the power supply, I am aware of power supply issues with the RPi's but did not think of it here as I generally run them of my computer USB port or a portable 5 volt USB battery pack. I think the old adage here is; "Never assume?" Even the computer USB may be low?

However I will investigate this further. At this time I fitted a USB voltage and current dongle into the power circuit and it is showing around the 4.8 volts at 290mA. I am also not sure of the losses through these dongles so will have to check that out too.

Just ran : dmesg | grep -i volt

Serious under voltage issues..........

[email protected](ro):~$ dmesg | grep -i volt
[ 6.233442] Under-voltage detected! (0x00050005)
[ 45.752004] Voltage normalised (0x00000000)
[ 70.712025] Under-voltage detected! (0x00050005)
[ 74.872016] Voltage normalised (0x00000000)
[ 85.272022] Under-voltage detected! (0x00050005)
[ 122.712019] Voltage normalised (0x00000000)
[email protected](ro):~$

The above was when the unit is running off a fully charged 10,000mAh battery pack. Need to check the leads too? It is not as if 300 - 400 mA is that much to cause voltage drop but then with cheap leads you can never be sure? The USB voltage/current monitoring dongle is showing a bit of jitter on both voltage corresponding with current changes.

OK, running: top

top - 13:51:45 up 5 min, 2 users, load average: 0.00, 0.07, 0.04
Tasks: 116 total, 1 running, 115 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
%Cpu(s): 0.4 us, 0.5 sy, 0.0 ni, 99.1 id, 0.0 wa, 0.0 hi, 0.0 si, 0.0 st
MiB Mem : 477.9 total, 278.4 free, 107.0 used, 92.6 buff/cache
MiB Swap: 0.0 total, 0.0 free, 0.0 used. 305.2 avail Mem

The only thing running on this RPi 3A+ is Pi-Star V4.1.0 RC7 and is only configured for D-Star operation.

My next step is to put it on my service bench in the shack and run it off the bench supply and see what happens?

73, Ben VK5BB

Post Reply